Somewhere between an internet conspiracy and politics as usual

 In the end, all I can say is that the internet is both the best police force going and the most fertile breeding ground for rumor since the party line.  

Towelroad repots that Obama team says it intended the prayer to be broadcast. and may do so at the inaguration itself, though this is not confirmed.  HRC says the same, with less deets.  (Their post was written earlier, and they are not Towelroad.)  HBO says they had no idea or they would have made sure they broadcast it. Obama team says uh-huh you did so.

I can see it being accidental.  But it’s an unfortunate accident, and I think Obama needs to quit mincing around the gay issue and quit taking steps backwards like Warren.  Yes, it’s lovely that we are having a new President, and no, I’m not trying to rain on the parade of anyone who is in euphoria.  But let’s remember that just because Bush lowered the bar to "thank God he’s not a complete incompetent dickhead" doesn’t mean Obama gets a free pass.  I’m sorry, but where I come from, when you do well, you just get asked to do more and do it better.  And none of us are even President of the United States of America.

I think including the prayer is a baseline, and should have been done anyway.  Better still would be to have Robinson at the inaguration itself.  For that, I’ll even forgive Warren being there as well.

Not sure why this upset me so much.  I think it’s because in 2004 they broke me, these politicians, and now that I have been burned, it takes more than a few cocktails and "yes we can" to get me into bed.  I’ve been bright-hearted and full of hope, blindly leaping into the void behind a star.  I’m never doing that again. 

That said, there’s nothing wrong with a politician trying to get me there anyway.  Come on, Obama.  Yes, you’re pretty, and you’re so much better than what we had.  Now be even better.  

2 Comments on “Somewhere between an internet conspiracy and politics as usual

  1. “I’m sorry, but where I come from, when you do well, you just get asked to do more and do it better.”
    This comment is very Midwestern and absolutely fucking true!

  2. I Hear You
    Thanks for this. Mark and I aren’t going to watch the inauguration. When Obama chose Rick Warren, it hurt, especially since Prop 8 passed so recently and Mr. Warren was such a vocal proponent. As a gay man who finally had the right to marry the person I love and then had it ripped away, I’m tired of being asked to be “patient.” I shouldn’t have to be. Of course I know it could be so much worse, but I’m not going to give him a pass. He screwed up with this choice–funny he asked Bishop Robinson and then they cut it out of the broadcast. And the homophobic, misogynistic, arrogant Mr. Rick Warren will be watched by millions, perhaps billions. But I appreciate the positive note you ended your entry on, and I’m open to seeing what happens…

Leave a Reply

