Podcast your novel?

I have a "publishing" filter on my google news page, and today it presented me with this article.  The gist of it is that there are a growing number of authors who, frustrated with the publishing industry, have taken to podcasting their novels, and a few of them have garnered book deals from it.

As a general practice, I think it’s interesting, but for me it doesn’t quite seem the answer, not just because distribution is tricky, but also, it’s not reading, it’s listening.  I’m a member of audible.com, but I’m terrible about listening, because honestly, I’d rather read.  And I don’t keep up with podcasts as it is.  Adding more?  No.  I read too fast for that.

And yet, I’ve found myself thinking about that article all day, finding myself fantasizing about podcasting THE SEVENTH VEIL, of how I could use the music to lead into it, and use my Curio pages as art for it.  I have thought, very often, of putting it or bits of it on my .mac, and the only reason I haven’t is that I honestly do want to make a serious attempt at traditional publishing before I rush off into the weeds.  It does seem like THE most insane time to try to get into traditional publishing, especially with a book I have a hard time describing, though I am getting better at it.  But at the same time, I don’t have high expectations, and really, in the end, I just want an audience.  I’d like it to be more than ad hoc, and I am a shitty, shitty marketer, but I can’t get the idea out of my mind.  Probably because it sounds like fun, and because it would be doing something.  Yes, I honestly am working on the synopsis right now, and like everything else it’s finally coming together, but even if the heavens opened and I got an agent and a publisher, it would be fricking forever before anything happened, and I’m more likely to go out tonight and buy a winning lottery ticket.

I don’t know.  Does anybody have any opinion on this?  I mean, if I put a link here to a podcast where you could listen to me reading TSV, would you care?  If you could read installments of the story online via a link, would you?  I’m not yet saying I would, but I might.  

What are your thoughts, dear readers?

Leave a Reply

