Interregnum Project

 I refuse to explain it too much at this moment, but if you’d like to be teased, this is the story I’m working on right now.

Well, I can set it up a little.  My brain wanted to rest between sections of STB, but I didn’t want to pick up any of the other projects because they felt big or too weird.  There is another one that I might be just writing forfrankie_ecap  and myself, and I think I could have picked it up again, but it was very, very much a story that I cannot even dream how and/or where to market, and I want to keep with my Cherry Forums goal of submitting something each month.  So I decided I wanted to submit something to Ellora’s Cave, and went to check their call for submissions.  They’re looking for something, any genre, that includes the theme: Beverage: "Wet."  (Penultimate was "Creamy.")  I have no idea where this goes, or if I’m doing it right, but now I have a target and a limitation.  And yesterday, ironically enough in the shower, I had an idea, and now I have seven thousand words.  I can’t have more than thirty.

It’s about a construction worker who stops by what he finds out, too late, that he has not stopped by some weird L.A. goth bar, but instead has accidentally gone to a shapeshifter bar.  And the bartender served him a stiff drink, which, in this bar, has a lot more literal of a meaning.

I would set it up a lot more if I were selling it to you, but it’s still squishy, so that’s all you get for now.  Except you also get a teaser Curio, which is nsfw.

My favorite thing about this story is that it’s so fun.  I can’t seem to help being serious, but this feels so lighthearted to me.  When I get it polished enough that it’s comprehensible, I’ll post a teaser.  Until then:

4 Comments on “Interregnum Project

    • Given our previous discussions of our personal tastes, that story is very, very much for you and me. To give you a clue, it got started because I couldn’t get Jude Law in drag out of my head.
      And thank you for the compliment.

Leave a Reply

