I cannot fucking make plot stick to this story.

I have reached the point in the drafting process where I would like a fifth of whiskey and a carton of cigarettes.  And maybe a gun to put in my mouth after.  After watching it open like a flower last week, it’s now turned into a Venus flytrap or something.  It won’t let me in.  It won’t work, no matter what I do.  It just lies there, twitching, or worse, being nothing at all.  And I’m writing such stellar prose, too.  I think today I may have written a total of 200 words.  Maybe.  I thought I had a breakthrough earlier when I did a bunch of research and I started seeing scenes again, but I got nothin’ now that I sat down.

There’s just no window.  I can’t see a damn thing, not with my fingers on the keyboard.  And there is NO FUCKING PLOT.  I have propped up antagonist after antagonist and strung out problem after problem, but Sam won’t pick any of them up.  He is totally fucking with me now.  There are some great scenes, and it could be such a good book, if–you know–it were actually about something.  All I get are these fragments of images which, while they are beautiful, still don’t let me know what the fuck the plot is.

And I can’t find the music.  Well, the music I can find, but not the soundtrack. Not the one with the plot in it.  And this is the paycheck where I screwed up, so I can’t go dancing around iTunes looking for it, because I might find it.  But even if I did, I don’t trust it to work.  I can’t collage.  It doesn’t want to.  It doesn’t want anything.

It’s time for whiskey.  No cigarettes, and no guns.  But there’s going to be whiskey.  If I still have some. Shit, if I don’t have whiskey, I’m just going to lie down on the bed and cry.

Sam and Mitch, you have to start talking to me.  I will give you until Monday evening, because all the astrologers are carrying on about how everything will be better by then.  But if you don’t start telling me what I should write, I’m throwing you over for the revisions of TEMPLE BOY.

Off to be drunk.  Ish.

4 Comments on “I cannot fucking make plot stick to this story.

  1. I’m sorry it’s not going well. For the playlist, can you not shuffle your music and see if anything you’ve got already pings your brain?
    Hope the whiskey works. =^..^=
    Merry

  2. Eek! No music for me usually = need to walk away for a bit. Play with other stuff and then see what happens. Or lots of shuffling of the iTunes library. Or reverting to BrainSync for awhile. Hope they start talking soon.

Leave a Reply

