The Itchy & Scratchy Show

Something is wrong with my body, and it is going to drive me fucking crazy.

I itch. I itch everywhere. I itch especially at this second on my left foot, with an itch so intense that I’ve nearly clawed through the skin to the blood beneath, and I"m still scratching. I’ve taken Benadryl. I’ve put on hydrocortizone cream. Aquaphillic. I’ve wet it down. I’ve wrapped it up. I’ve scratched and scratched and scratched.  I’ve not scratched until my brain screams and my hands fly there of their own free will, possessed by a madness to MAKE IT FUCKING STOP.

It’s still itching.  It’s hurting now, too, and itching beneath. And I have no idea why.

It moves. It morphs from my foot to my calf, then to my thigh.  It leaps to my hands, up my arm. It goes to my face, to the back of my neck, to my hair. It itches like a bug bite, like a rash, but there is absolutely nothing there, not anywhere–not until I get to scratching, that is, and then it is red from the irritation of my fingernails.

It’s been doing this for days. It comes and it goes, but it’s worst at night just before I go to bed, and in the evenings starting around five or six.

It has to be in my head.

But nothing I do makes it either stop or get out of my head.

I have no idea what to do with this. No clue. All I can tell you is that if you live in Ames and you hear a blood curdling scream of rage and frustration and then wild weeping in the middle of the night, it’s me, because it’s finally won and I have lost my mind.

Off to scratch and see if I’ll draw blood. 

6 Comments on “The Itchy & Scratchy Show

  1. Are you run down? I have an allergy to a very common form of mould but I only get the itchies from it when I’m really run down or when there’s a lot of it….and the way I found out I was allergic was when I started getting weird random itchiness like you described when they renovated my work building (a process that went on for almost two years…oh joy…makes gardening fun too because the mould is in most dirt). Now when I get the itchies because I’m run down or after gardening, Claramax (Aerius?) works for me, Zyrtec just puts me to sleep and Telfast made it worse, so you might have to experiment with your anti itchy stuff. Apart from that cool showers and making sure my skin wasn’t dry at all, so lots of slathering with something mild like sorbolene. Apart from that, have you changed soap or laundry powder or medications or anything recently? that’s the other common cause.
    Hugs though, there is nothing more crazy making and you’ve got enough to go on with without itching!

  2. I get random itch attacks in the night where I have been known to scratch until I bleed. Benedryl usually helps, but usually knocks me out. I was going to suggest Aquaphilic. I have mild eczema and even that doesn’t work for me some of the time, but it’s the best I’ve found. I’m so sorry. Itching is awful and I really feel for you. 😦

  3. Oatmeal bath? My mother used to do that when we had the chicken pox.
    Aveeno was good when I was pregnant and my stomach skin itched horribly.
    But, damn! That’s the worst kind of torture.

Leave a Reply

