NaNoWriMo 2009: Day 8, or Happy Right Now

I have a meta-NaNoWriMo post brewing, but I wanted to do an update post first, because this novel is going very, very well, coming out almost on a sigh and more formed in the first draft than anything I’ve written yet, and I have to say, I’m sorry if I’m disgusting, but it’s been a long, hellish road to this point, and I don’t care. Well, I care, because I know the pain of watching someone else soar while you’re drowning in the muck, but I have put in my dues. I have done the angsty struggling. I have run my head into walls over plots. I also know other books will not come out this easy, and I know this one could still turn on me. What I’ve got is some Happy Right Now, and I’m holding onto it.  Which is actually a very Randy thing to do.

The winner of the weekend is Crabtree, though he may have actually shown up on Friday. Or Thursday. He’s a gangster who loves kittens, and I think he’s the antagonist or at least the push I have been looking for. He just came over for dinner and beat poor Ethan up at cards. But Randy came to the rescue.

I think the best part of this book is how fun it is. There are a few points that are a little close to the bone, but mostly it’s the most fun I’ve ever had in a story. There are card games, dinner parties, shopping sprees, and midnight rides on motorcycles. I know some of the things still to come, and I can’t wait. If readers have even half the good time reading this as I am having writing it, this ought to be a fantastic party, this book. And yes, there’s sex. Less than Special Delivery, which isn’t hard to do. But Randy and Ethan have as much if not more fun doing the push-pull of emotions. And they’re both due some Cinderella moments. I’m going to give them as many as I can shove in here.

The funniest thing to me is that I think the underlying theme about this story is partly "what it means to be a man." Which cracks me up, because, um. I’m not sure on that yet, but I’ll know once Mandy comes back in on the scene.

The other funny thing about this book is how intensely Las Vegas it is. Which is funny because I have been to Las Vegas twice: I rode down the strip when I was ten, and this June I spent 12 hours there, most of those sleeping. I’ve been nowhere in Vegas, not really. But I’ve watched a lot of movies and internet.

Shower, church, then a write-in. And we will also buy Anna new fish. These are going to live, goddamn it.

2 Comments on “NaNoWriMo 2009: Day 8, or Happy Right Now

  1. Oh, yeah, I totally hate you that this is so easy for you, but, um, I totally recognize that you practice writing constantly. If I practiced more, it would be easier for me. And, actually? This time is much easier around than last time.

Leave a Reply

