Elbows and Edits

Tomorrow I am heading to Ankeny to see some chiropractor/acupuncturist/general whosis of pain. Thursday I see my regular doctor as well as my energy/reiki therapist. Today I went to talk therapy. By Friday, I will be a new person.

Well, I doubt it. The arms, though, are out of control. I walked into Maura’s office today and she recoiled at the sight of me, and I had to explain that I was not, in fact, in some horrible accident; I just had my arms wrapped in Ace bandages and my elbow in a support band because it felt better. I think for now I need to wear the bandages every day while I’m typing. Not sure about the elbow thing. The compression seems to help keep my tendons from locking up. At least I think they’re tendons. What I can tell you is that despite that one day last week where there was no pain, every other day has at least one of my arms locking up above and/or below the elbow. The muscles are so tight they feel like I am made of hard plastic, and when Dan tries to massage them to release the tightness he bruises me on accident. Over the weekend I kept losing feeling in my right pinky, which was worrying. When it got cold, I got very nervous, so Dan started pinching my finger on occasion, digging in with his fingernail. When I felt it and said, "Ow!" He said, "Good." Then, "Sorry."

So, it’s time to broaden the doctor pool. Yes, I resent this, if you were wondering. But as I said to Maura, while no, it isn’t fair, and yes, it is annoying, and yes, it gets me down, none of this gets rid of the pain. Going to Ankeny to see a new dude and double checking with my usual one and having a little soothing energy therapy does. Of course, it’s going to cost a lot of money. Win some, lose some.

But speaking of win. I keep getting comments, in email and reviews, about how people like Special Delivery, and several have made a point to praise my handling of BDSM. While I am very glad for and grateful to get all comments on this book, I am especially pleased to hear that comment in particular. I worried so much over that, because that was a researched point, not a personal experience. (You’ll note, if you read it, that Sam specificially states he is not into pain. This is because while I respect the rights of others to feel otherwise, personally I can find pain sexy in no universe.) I know that bad handling of BDSM gets a lot of sharp negative attention, so I did my best and then got ready to hear I did it wrong, because I was sure I must have. Not so much so far. Which is nice to know.

The other thing I am doing right now is editing the hell out of TSV. (That would be The Seventh Veil for those of you just joining the blog.) I’m on my last seventy pages of copy edit, and then I need to prepare the stuff I need to submit it. I want to submit it as a series, so I’m going to outline what I know of all seven books. I hope to god I will only be going over this story two more times, once in copy edit and once in galleys. And I hope to all heaven it is through DSP.

That’s the state of me. Off to send Anna to piano and sort dinner, and then back to edits before more writing with DW tonight. Work, work, work, work….

22 Comments on “Elbows and Edits

  1. I guess I don’t know all the backstory here, but “ow” that sounds really unpleasant. I hope the new doctor can help! 😦
    *thinks healthy thoughts in your direction*

    • Thanks. The story is that I have a chronic pain issue which is mostly muscle related, may have something to do with hormones, and sometimes really flares up. Last year it was a real drag; this year it’s mostly annoying. So it’s progress. Plus, I’m better at finding answers now.

    • Thanks. The story is that I have a chronic pain issue which is mostly muscle related, may have something to do with hormones, and sometimes really flares up. Last year it was a real drag; this year it’s mostly annoying. So it’s progress. Plus, I’m better at finding answers now.

  2. I guess I don’t know all the backstory here, but “ow” that sounds really unpleasant. I hope the new doctor can help! 😦
    *thinks healthy thoughts in your direction*

  3. Go you on good research coming through to readers! And especially on the good reviews.
    Oddly, I have one character who gets off on pain. It’s in an unfinished novel. I didn’t plan it that way but that’s how he ended up. But he’s unusual in a lot of ways.
    And speaking of pain, my completely unformed diagnosis is that this is a form of tendon/muscle pain from overuse. Are you icing it down for 20 minutes at least three times a day? That’ll bring down the swelling. In any case, I suspect this is the kind of thing a physical therapist can help with the best. They sure did great on my nasty shoulder pain–that was bursitis.

    • I think there may be an element to that, but there’s something else too. It’s multi-layered. I think the guy today might be worth something, maybe; at the very least he found new weird points, which I took home to my chiropractor and he helped un-stick. Now to keep them unstuck.
      Hoping for a TENS unit or however you say it from the doctor. Or something that isn’t Vicodin.

    • I think there may be an element to that, but there’s something else too. It’s multi-layered. I think the guy today might be worth something, maybe; at the very least he found new weird points, which I took home to my chiropractor and he helped un-stick. Now to keep them unstuck.
      Hoping for a TENS unit or however you say it from the doctor. Or something that isn’t Vicodin.

  4. Go you on good research coming through to readers! And especially on the good reviews.
    Oddly, I have one character who gets off on pain. It’s in an unfinished novel. I didn’t plan it that way but that’s how he ended up. But he’s unusual in a lot of ways.
    And speaking of pain, my completely unformed diagnosis is that this is a form of tendon/muscle pain from overuse. Are you icing it down for 20 minutes at least three times a day? That’ll bring down the swelling. In any case, I suspect this is the kind of thing a physical therapist can help with the best. They sure did great on my nasty shoulder pain–that was bursitis.

  5. Really random question spurred by this entry: so obviously Anna knows you’re a writer, but how do you explain WHAT your books are about? (or have you covered this and I missed it?)

    • I tell her they’re about boys and boys who love each other. She’s actually wanted to read them and feels very left out that she can’t, but I explained that they have sex in them and that it’s not for kids to read. She can when she’s a teenager, I told her.

      • That’s pretty cool. Was just curious, since obviously she knows you are a writer and have books and stuff. I read a LOT at that age and totally wouldn’t have gotten them myself.

      • That’s pretty cool. Was just curious, since obviously she knows you are a writer and have books and stuff. I read a LOT at that age and totally wouldn’t have gotten them myself.

    • I tell her they’re about boys and boys who love each other. She’s actually wanted to read them and feels very left out that she can’t, but I explained that they have sex in them and that it’s not for kids to read. She can when she’s a teenager, I told her.

  6. Really random question spurred by this entry: so obviously Anna knows you’re a writer, but how do you explain WHAT your books are about? (or have you covered this and I missed it?)

Leave a Reply

