iMixes por vous from Hero & Special Delivery

It’s no secret* to anyone reading this blog long term that I feel the music in my stories is a vital part of their composition. In the past I’ve done bits and pieces of lists either as images grabbed from my iTunes or have just listed them, or I’ve gushed about particular artists. Well, for fun, I’ve made iMixes of the two published I’ve done, and you can either go and nose around, or you can buy them, or whatever. I’ll make a playlist track too for those who can’t access the same list because I’m US iTunes. (The whole country restriction thing is so fired.) Some of you in other countries might even be able to add songs I wanted on there but couldn’t get my iTunes to export.

Hero
iMix link
Tracklist:
  1. O… Saya from Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack (A.R. Rahman & M.I.A.)
  2. The Miracle of Illusion by Jens Gad (La Spa Sonique)
  3. Touchness by Enigma (Seven Lives Many Faces)
  4. I’m Not A Hero from The Dark Knight soundtrack (Hans Zimmer & James Newton Howard)
  5. Superficial (Instrumental) by Enigma (Seven Lives Many Faces)
  6. Spiegel im Spiegel: 2 arranged by Arvo Pärt (performted by Alexander Malter, Dieter Schwalke, Sergej Bezrodny & Vladimir Spivakov)
  7. Autumn Interlude by Amethystium (Aphelion)
  8. Latkia’s Theme from Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack (A.R. Rahman & Suzanne)
  9. Love Don’t Live Here by Ladyhawke (Ladyhawke)
  10. Aggressive Expansion from The Dark Knight soundtrack (Hans Zimmer & James Newton Howard)
  11. What Shall We Die For from Pirates of the Carribean: At World’s End soundtrack (Hans Zimmer)
  12. Hero by Enrique Iglesias (Escape)
 

Missing tracks:

Crucial to this story was the entire soundtrack from The Promise by Klaus Badelt. It used to be on iTunes, but somehow is not there now. It’s very lovely: technically it’s Chinese, not Japanese, but "Love Theme" and "Princess Kite" gave me a lot of Morgan. There was also a lot of Lady Gaga, particularly "Love Game" back when people were still saying, "Lady who?" At different times I listened to the soundtrack from Coraline, Rhianna, and Moby’s Wait for Me album. I got a lot out of "Gimme More" by Britney Spears during the scene where Hal is a Hunter and has to go rescue Morgan, but it didn’t fit in the above soundtrack. I really, really wanted "This Is" by Grace Jones from Hurricane, but it’s not available in the US. So sad.

If you want to try those out or purchase them and have access to US iTunes, click the iMix link beneath the cover art. If you don’t live in the US, I don’t know what happens when you clicky. Find out and report back!

Special Delivery

iMix link
Track list:

  1. First Train Home (Instrumental Version) by Imogen Heap (Ellipse-Deluxe Version)
  2. A&E (Maps Instrumental Mix) by Goldfrapp (A&E EP)
  3. Love At First Sight by Kylie Minogue (Fever)
  4. Tears of Joy from The Partition soundtrack (Brian Tyler)
  5. Swoon by Imogen Heap (Ellipse)
  6. Time Out From The World by Goldfrapp (Supernature)
  7. All I See by Kylie Minogue (X)
  8. Look On The Floor by Bananarama (Drama)
  9. Canyon Dreams by Ah Nee Mah (Spirit of the Canyon)
  10. A&E (Maps Remix) by Goldfrapp (A&E EP)
  11. Home by Will Young (Keep On)
  12. First Train Home by Imogen Heap (Ellipse)

Two gems are missing from this one: "Love Comes" by Bananarama from their latest album, Viva, and "This Is Who I Am" by Will Young from I don’t know what album.

Mostly I listened to Imogen Heap while I wrote this story. Anytime it was Sam & Mitch in the truck, that was what was on, if not Ah Nee Mah. "Canyon Dreams" got put on repeat a lot, as did an instrumental playlist I made of the tracks from Ellipse that really worked. Ellipse came out while I was writing (on my birthday!!!), and it quickly became all I wanted to hear. It really felt like the sound I wanted for Sam’s journey. The Maps remix of "A&E" was also key; anytime there was movement or a middle arc in a plot point, I went for that song. But when they were in Vegas, it was Bananarama and Kylie all the way. And back when this book was just a gleam in my eye, I listened to absolutely nothing but Kylie. She made Sam who he was more than anyone. So, Pop Princess, I thank you.

A special note: When Sam runs (limps?) down the road towards the truck stop, and when Old Blue goes racing down Main Street at the end, it was "First Train Home (Instrumental)" over and over and over and over. And over.

And those are my mixes. I hope you enjoy them.

*Anyone who had Kylie run through their head when I said that gets extra credit points and a big, big hug.

Leave a Reply

