It’s not personal; it’s business

I don’t have the full details, or at least a full understanding, and that’s largely because my brain is a bit scattered at the moment. What I do know is that Elisa Rolle, who of her own free will and with a grace like no other reviews m/m fiction and gives commentary on publishing/reading in general, has had her referral program links hijacked. What I also know is that she has felt that her customer service in getting this situation resolved has been less than stellar. I understand that as of this moment, the winds of customer service are beginning to change, and things might actually work out.

The other thing I know is this: Elisa doesn’t have to be here, and neither do I. I’m a paying member, and so is Elisa. I really, really love LJ for the userpics and the Friends list and so many other small things. And it used to be that this place was just my personal watercooler for my life. While it’s still that, it’s also now part of my professional arm. So yes, I take great interest in hearing that not only are links being hijacked but that when complaints are made, nothing is done or is done poorly. Personally, yes, I love many things about LJ. But if at any point LJ’s poor business sense threatens me professionally, there’s really no discussion. Me, my money, and my traffic will have to go elsewhere.

Hoping very much that this all turns out to be a Big Misunderstanding and we all live happily ever after.

8 Comments on “It’s not personal; it’s business

  1. You could try Dreamwidth, but I hear their payment system is down atm if you wanted a paid account. I do have invite codes if you’d want one – I don’t actively post there, but I have friends who do, so I got a free account.

  2. You could try Dreamwidth, but I hear their payment system is down atm if you wanted a paid account. I do have invite codes if you’d want one – I don’t actively post there, but I have friends who do, so I got a free account.

Leave a Reply

