Stuff

I did not get to pick up Mia today, because when the vet called to report this afternoon, she had a temp of only 95. It was up from the 93 it had been that morning, but she wasn’t up as high as the vet would like. Plus, she’d stopped eating. After some discussion, we decided it would be better to leave her there for the night because they were better to equipped to force-feed and monitor a cat recovering from highly traumatic surgery. Anna and I went to see her this afternoon, and I admit I went in braced to find a cat nearing her death. I’m happy to report that I did not. Though she was very Frankenkitty with this HUGE swatch of shaved fur and a cross-section of stitches combined with two bloody drainage tubes down the sides of her body, she was still my Mia. She saw me and began to purr, and we spent a good half-hour rubbing noses and giving and receiving pets. She was alert, amazingly functional for someone undergoing such intensive surgery, and in short, made me feel very positive about her recovery. Best of all, the tech took her temp while we were there, and she’d gone up another degree—even off her heating pad and sitting on the cold exam table. So I’m really hoping that tomorrow I get to go pick her up and bring her home. We have her recovery cage ready and waiting and her newspaper litter on standby.

Today I also picked up a TENS unit at phyiscal therapy. Basically it’s little electrical impulses from these little pads which stimulate muscles. I can attach it anywhere, and I have already placed the nodes on my arm, shoulder, neck, upper back, and lower back. For whatever reason I crank it way, way up on my back but can barely have it on at all on my neck. I feel like I’ve maybe improved on the neck a bit because it’s not twitching so much, but it may be that I’ve gone to a different setting. There are all these different bursts and pulses and ratchety things. It’s good. It doesn’t make everything go away permanently, but it does seem to be good at keeping me from spiraling down to a place where I reach for the Vicodin.

Other exciting news: Tonight I got a Facebook message from Anna’s uncle-to-be who scored tickets to Obama’s Iowa City speech and wants to take her as his guest. I’m hoping to be nursing Mia by then, so I’ll have to stay close to Ames, but we’ll get her there. Her father, naturally, is very worried that she’ll get lost or something, but I’ll work on that too.

I think that’s about it. Tomorrow there’s nothing on the schedule, which is something of a minor miracle. Well, one thing, but it’s in the late evening, and it’s not during the day and it’s not an appointment to deal with or talk about chronic pain. And I have my buzzy bits in case we need to have a conversation during the day.

There are about sixty emails I should answer, but I think I’m going to go curl up with Libby Drew’s book instead. Goodnight, Internet.

9 Comments on “Stuff

  1. Aw, Mia. I really hope she’s well enough for you to bring home tomorrow.
    Good luck with the TENS; I’ve heard really good things about those.
    And wow, what a wonderful thing to be able to go see Obama!
    Libby’s book was so good. *_* Happy reading. šŸ™‚

  2. Aw, Mia. I really hope she’s well enough for you to bring home tomorrow.
    Good luck with the TENS; I’ve heard really good things about those.
    And wow, what a wonderful thing to be able to go see Obama!
    Libby’s book was so good. *_* Happy reading. šŸ™‚

  3. Aw, Mia. I really hope she’s well enough for you to bring home tomorrow.
    Good luck with the TENS; I’ve heard really good things about those.
    And wow, what a wonderful thing to be able to go see Obama!
    Libby’s book was so good. *_* Happy reading. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

