Mia is home; Anna is off having a seminal moment

Mia is home. I dropped Anna off in Newton with her uncle Andrew, then came back, prepped the Mia Chamber, and went to the vet. I can’t say I’m pleased with the home care instructions. They were given by a tech who clearly hadn’t been properly briefed, and if I hadn’t known what questions to ask, it wouldn’t have gone well. Still, I have Mia home, with a lot of meds I have no idea how I’ll give to her. Ah, joy.

Here is a photo of her not wanting to have her photo taken, and another of her in her isolation booth (set up in the living room).

 

Click on this if you want to see what her scars look like. I’m making it a link because not everyone will want to see. It’s not grotesque if you’ve seen surgical patients before, but if you have an inclination not to click, I’d follow it. (The things out the side of her body are the drainage tubes. She’s dripping less blood and puss, but they’re in until Monday at least.)

For comparison, here she is with her gargantuan tumor a few days before surgery.

That lump cost $800. Just so you know. It also cost Dan his iMac. Mia thanks you, Dan. (He’s going to get one, but now he has to wait.)

In other news, Anna is, right now, waiting in the University of Iowa Fieldhouse in Iowa City with Andrew so they can see Obama. Andrew is a big video-maker, so I expect at some point I will be linking you to video of The Event. It was hard to say who was more excited, Andrew or Anna, and the best part was that they were as excited to be hanging out with each other as they were to see the President. Andrew has a keen sense of what a big thing this will be to Anna when she’s older, so he keeps documenting the day, asking Anna to wave to Future Anna, etc. If time permits, they’ll go to Hamburg Inn for a post-event meal. Then I catch her back at 4 in order to get her to her violin lesson and my shiatzu appointment.

So now I have a few hours before I have to leave again. I have bailed out Yet Another Fucking Dead Fish, loaded the tank with chemicals and crap supposedly to help it, changed the water (before I put the stuff in, yes), and now we have to get a few more fish on the way home tonight because one glowfish does not make a school. I’m tempted to have just algae eaters. They seem to be fine. They’re also hilarious. (Their names are Fred and Al.)

Someday I will post about my TENS unit, which I adore and have named Emmy. But not today.

13 Comments on “Mia is home; Anna is off having a seminal moment

  1. Poor baby, when my cat had surgery I thought I was going to have trouble giving meds. It turned out, I had no problem. She liked the way it tasted (it smelled like meat) and it stopped her pain. So by the time the bottle was almost gone, she was running to me when she saw it. My mother laughed and said she was addicted.
    Awesome, isolation booth. I had to settle for putting my Mimi in my little bathroom. I felt awful keeping her shut up, but it was my best option. I hope everything works out well for you. She’s in my prayers.
    Sweets 🙂

  2. Poor baby, when my cat had surgery I thought I was going to have trouble giving meds. It turned out, I had no problem. She liked the way it tasted (it smelled like meat) and it stopped her pain. So by the time the bottle was almost gone, she was running to me when she saw it. My mother laughed and said she was addicted.
    Awesome, isolation booth. I had to settle for putting my Mimi in my little bathroom. I felt awful keeping her shut up, but it was my best option. I hope everything works out well for you. She’s in my prayers.
    Sweets 🙂

  3. Poor baby, when my cat had surgery I thought I was going to have trouble giving meds. It turned out, I had no problem. She liked the way it tasted (it smelled like meat) and it stopped her pain. So by the time the bottle was almost gone, she was running to me when she saw it. My mother laughed and said she was addicted.
    Awesome, isolation booth. I had to settle for putting my Mimi in my little bathroom. I felt awful keeping her shut up, but it was my best option. I hope everything works out well for you. She’s in my prayers.
    Sweets 🙂

  4. I’m so glad you were able to get her today. She looks generally annoyed at the whole darn situation. Poor girl.
    And so good for Anna! Just such an amazing thing to get to go to. 🙂

  5. I’m so glad you were able to get her today. She looks generally annoyed at the whole darn situation. Poor girl.
    And so good for Anna! Just such an amazing thing to get to go to. 🙂

  6. I’m so glad you were able to get her today. She looks generally annoyed at the whole darn situation. Poor girl.
    And so good for Anna! Just such an amazing thing to get to go to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

