Stapled Cat is stapled; Miles & the Magic Flute has a cover

Quick update, because   is coming, and I have to clean a bathroom and make a dinner.

Mia went to the vet this morning to get her stitches removed and came home gushing blood. When Dan took her back, he said he could see her connective tissue. I still feel nauseous just thinking about that; seeing it would have done me in. So she spent the morning and early afternoon getting stapled. Seriously: she has thirty staples down her back. She doesn’t care. She just came home, gave me a dirty look because of the vet visit, and passed out on her pillow.

I finished the draft for the fairytale novella I promised to do back in January. It still needs some hot oil help, but its bones are not bad, I don’t think. Its official title is The Sweet Son, but I have been referring to it as Slutty Snow White. This one rivals Special Delivery in its ability to make me sit at my desk and blush and gape at the monitor. This will be another one, I fear, where my mother-in-law blinks and asks me how I know this stuff. I honestly have no idea, Nina. I just have slutty muses. I like to think this one has heart too, a lot of it, actually, but we’ll see.

Meanwhile, I got the cover for Miles and the Magic Flute today. I am still swooning from the power of the awesome.   is, as ever, amazing beyond amazing. So is Dreamspinner Press.

Next up, after I fuss over the novella draft and send it out to the very eager beta who inspired it, I have to get David my scene which I am HEINOUSLY behind on, and then, finally, FINALLY, I am going to lock the doors and make the world go away until I get another good chunk of Two To Tango out of me. Because that is starting to make me ache.

In the meantime, my god, wait until you see what the Map Muse is doing to the world of The Seventh Veil. Oh, I hope that book sells next.

Now it’s time for toilet cleaning and black bean soup. And a run to the store, because I have no bread….

69 Comments on “Stapled Cat is stapled; Miles & the Magic Flute has a cover

    • Mia is not. We talked about it, but the vet said just so long as she’s generally kept calm. She’s less energetic than she had been, but she’s still eating. Need to do a warm compress on her soon.

    • Mia is not. We talked about it, but the vet said just so long as she’s generally kept calm. She’s less energetic than she had been, but she’s still eating. Need to do a warm compress on her soon.

    • Mia is not. We talked about it, but the vet said just so long as she’s generally kept calm. She’s less energetic than she had been, but she’s still eating. Need to do a warm compress on her soon.

  1. Oh, that is just lovely!
    And I meant to say that I’ve just finished reading “Hero” and thought it was brilliant. I enjoyed it so much that after getting it in ebook, I got it in print as well πŸ™‚

    • Oh, thanks. πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed it.
      Am hoping your shoulder gets better soon. Are you in regular pain? Man, do I recommend the TENS unit.
      If we didn’t have that big pond in the way, I’d say we should meet up to swap PT exercises and share war stories of Shoulders Behaving Badly.

      • Thanks! Yes, fairly constant pain at the moment – mostly low grade, but if I move awkwardly or try and do something too fast, without thinking, then it can be excruciating. I hadn’t thought of a TENS machine, but that does sound like a great idea.
        I found your post about allowing yourself to realize that – in your current state – you shouldn’t expect yourself to do the same as you would do when well, really helpful. I think that’s something I need to accept too. I may have been expecting too much of myself by assuming that I could just ignore this and carry on as normal.

        • I’m glad it was helpful. And I know what you mean about trying to carry on or even just reaching for a normal that isn’t there. I was at a concert over the weekend, one I really wanted to go to and had been looking forward to for some time, but I had to stand the whole time and by the time the act I wanted to see came on, I was spending more focus on battling pain that I was able to give to enjoying the experience. When I realized that, I had to take a minute to be sad. Then I just tried to accept that it was what it was and glean what enjoyment I could. It works, sometimes. And sometimes it’s just time to mourn.

          • Oh, that’s such a shame. No matter how philosophical and stoic you try to be, it’s still a fairly constant run of disappointment piled on top of discomfort. I really miss dancing. It took me 40 years to start, so it’s grieving to be forced to stop the very next year πŸ™‚

          • Oh, that’s such a shame. No matter how philosophical and stoic you try to be, it’s still a fairly constant run of disappointment piled on top of discomfort. I really miss dancing. It took me 40 years to start, so it’s grieving to be forced to stop the very next year πŸ™‚

          • Oh, that’s such a shame. No matter how philosophical and stoic you try to be, it’s still a fairly constant run of disappointment piled on top of discomfort. I really miss dancing. It took me 40 years to start, so it’s grieving to be forced to stop the very next year πŸ™‚

        • I’m glad it was helpful. And I know what you mean about trying to carry on or even just reaching for a normal that isn’t there. I was at a concert over the weekend, one I really wanted to go to and had been looking forward to for some time, but I had to stand the whole time and by the time the act I wanted to see came on, I was spending more focus on battling pain that I was able to give to enjoying the experience. When I realized that, I had to take a minute to be sad. Then I just tried to accept that it was what it was and glean what enjoyment I could. It works, sometimes. And sometimes it’s just time to mourn.

        • I’m glad it was helpful. And I know what you mean about trying to carry on or even just reaching for a normal that isn’t there. I was at a concert over the weekend, one I really wanted to go to and had been looking forward to for some time, but I had to stand the whole time and by the time the act I wanted to see came on, I was spending more focus on battling pain that I was able to give to enjoying the experience. When I realized that, I had to take a minute to be sad. Then I just tried to accept that it was what it was and glean what enjoyment I could. It works, sometimes. And sometimes it’s just time to mourn.

      • Thanks! Yes, fairly constant pain at the moment – mostly low grade, but if I move awkwardly or try and do something too fast, without thinking, then it can be excruciating. I hadn’t thought of a TENS machine, but that does sound like a great idea.
        I found your post about allowing yourself to realize that – in your current state – you shouldn’t expect yourself to do the same as you would do when well, really helpful. I think that’s something I need to accept too. I may have been expecting too much of myself by assuming that I could just ignore this and carry on as normal.

      • Thanks! Yes, fairly constant pain at the moment – mostly low grade, but if I move awkwardly or try and do something too fast, without thinking, then it can be excruciating. I hadn’t thought of a TENS machine, but that does sound like a great idea.
        I found your post about allowing yourself to realize that – in your current state – you shouldn’t expect yourself to do the same as you would do when well, really helpful. I think that’s something I need to accept too. I may have been expecting too much of myself by assuming that I could just ignore this and carry on as normal.

    • Oh, thanks. πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed it.
      Am hoping your shoulder gets better soon. Are you in regular pain? Man, do I recommend the TENS unit.
      If we didn’t have that big pond in the way, I’d say we should meet up to swap PT exercises and share war stories of Shoulders Behaving Badly.

    • Oh, thanks. πŸ™‚ Glad you enjoyed it.
      Am hoping your shoulder gets better soon. Are you in regular pain? Man, do I recommend the TENS unit.
      If we didn’t have that big pond in the way, I’d say we should meet up to swap PT exercises and share war stories of Shoulders Behaving Badly.

  2. Oh, that is just lovely!
    And I meant to say that I’ve just finished reading “Hero” and thought it was brilliant. I enjoyed it so much that after getting it in ebook, I got it in print as well πŸ™‚

  3. Oh, that is just lovely!
    And I meant to say that I’ve just finished reading “Hero” and thought it was brilliant. I enjoyed it so much that after getting it in ebook, I got it in print as well πŸ™‚

  4. OMG that’s a fucking gorgeous cover!
    More poor kitty. Staples suck. Unless you decide to hang beaded tassels from them and make her decorative. Which she’d likely not appreciate.

    • I think the staples are bothering her a bit, but man, she needs them. You’re not supposed to see the insides from the outside.

    • I think the staples are bothering her a bit, but man, she needs them. You’re not supposed to see the insides from the outside.

    • I think the staples are bothering her a bit, but man, she needs them. You’re not supposed to see the insides from the outside.

  5. OMG that’s a fucking gorgeous cover!
    More poor kitty. Staples suck. Unless you decide to hang beaded tassels from them and make her decorative. Which she’d likely not appreciate.

  6. OMG that’s a fucking gorgeous cover!
    More poor kitty. Staples suck. Unless you decide to hang beaded tassels from them and make her decorative. Which she’d likely not appreciate.

  7. Aw, poor Mia. At least it doesn’t seem to bother her too much. Still, your stress. 😦
    So great to hear about the writing successes! And the cover is just beautiful. Speaking of Special Delivery, long weekend is long, with plenty of time for cracking that open. I’m so looking forward to it. πŸ˜€

  8. Aw, poor Mia. At least it doesn’t seem to bother her too much. Still, your stress. 😦
    So great to hear about the writing successes! And the cover is just beautiful. Speaking of Special Delivery, long weekend is long, with plenty of time for cracking that open. I’m so looking forward to it. πŸ˜€

  9. Aw, poor Mia. At least it doesn’t seem to bother her too much. Still, your stress. 😦
    So great to hear about the writing successes! And the cover is just beautiful. Speaking of Special Delivery, long weekend is long, with plenty of time for cracking that open. I’m so looking forward to it. πŸ˜€

    • My favorite part was I honestly had no idea how to visualize that one at all. At ALL. In the end I think this was brilliant because of anything I’ve written so far it’s the most JUST about the hero. And she still made it silver….

    • My favorite part was I honestly had no idea how to visualize that one at all. At ALL. In the end I think this was brilliant because of anything I’ve written so far it’s the most JUST about the hero. And she still made it silver….

    • My favorite part was I honestly had no idea how to visualize that one at all. At ALL. In the end I think this was brilliant because of anything I’ve written so far it’s the most JUST about the hero. And she still made it silver….

Leave a Reply

