I see you on the street and you walk on by

What a fantastic blogger I’ve been, eh? First I plop up a collage and never explain it, and then I do it again.

Hi!

So, the gig here is that I am trying to finish Two to Tango. I’ve set myself a goal of 5k a day this week, which I failed to meet today because last night I slept poorly, but 3k is not too shabby, especially considering there were other things to do today as well. I think I must be midway through the book, because I feel like it has no plot and I’m starting to seriously panic that it won’t ever make sense and that I am about to be exposed as someone who cannot write her way out of a paper bag. Once I hit the intense freak-out over a lack of an antagonist and a conviction that it’s all written in Sanskrit I’ll know I’m nearly to the dark moment and resolution and should be doing just fine.

Though this one gets points for not only coming out like molassess but hiding the real storyline on a level I haven’t seen since The Seventh Veil. We went from dancing all the time to boinking all the time, and they keep sapping out on me. Once I thin out the treacle, this will be the hands-down most fucking romantic book I have ever written, and it may hold that title for some time to come. But right now it’s crazy. Its favorite trick is to be whizzing along through a scene and then reference a plot point/conversation/person that came out of nowhere. Like in the last scene Laurie wonders about something his mom said to him, except she never fucking said that. This is going to be one to weep over the whiteboard about, that I know. Continuity. It shall be my enemy, I can feel it now.

Okay, the collages. The second one obviously is the Two To Tango collage. I needed it for the Facebook chat.  I think I’ve posted that one here before though. The Pretty When You Cry one is a sequel to the Sam/Mitch/Randy world. Yes, that’s beyond the wedding one. They keep waking me up in the middle of the night. But nobody gets pen to paper until Two To Tango is done, and then it is Small Town Boy and Temple Boy, and a novella I need to shape up and sell. Beause my goal for 2010 is that there will be no more malingering novels. Do or die. That’s the motto.

With that, I’m going to go find my husband and watch Doctor Who. I’m sure there’s other stuff I’ve forgotten, probably important stuff, but oh well.

30 Comments on “I see you on the street and you walk on by

  1. 3k words impresses the heck out of me. I’m always happy to hear that there will be new amazoniowan stuff to read in due time. : )
    And, oooooh, you watch DW? What do you think of the new doctor? O_O

      • Amy is fairly awesome. And I kinda like that fact that the new doctor still seems a little like David Tennant, but then I thought he was super-amazingly-awesomely-made-of-win.
        Maybe in time Matt Smith will outgrow that, and that would be okay, but for now, it makes me pine for David a little less. : )

      • Amy is fairly awesome. And I kinda like that fact that the new doctor still seems a little like David Tennant, but then I thought he was super-amazingly-awesomely-made-of-win.
        Maybe in time Matt Smith will outgrow that, and that would be okay, but for now, it makes me pine for David a little less. : )

      • Amy is fairly awesome. And I kinda like that fact that the new doctor still seems a little like David Tennant, but then I thought he was super-amazingly-awesomely-made-of-win.
        Maybe in time Matt Smith will outgrow that, and that would be okay, but for now, it makes me pine for David a little less. : )

  2. 3k words impresses the heck out of me. I’m always happy to hear that there will be new amazoniowan stuff to read in due time. : )
    And, oooooh, you watch DW? What do you think of the new doctor? O_O

  3. 3k words impresses the heck out of me. I’m always happy to hear that there will be new amazoniowan stuff to read in due time. : )
    And, oooooh, you watch DW? What do you think of the new doctor? O_O

  4. First: icon love. ♥
    Second: this has nothing to do with your post, but I finished reading Special Delivery last night and had to tell you how much I adored it. In all honesty, the promise of hot BDSM sex was what drew me in (and that, btw, exceeded all expectations), but I totally fell in love with the characters as well and had the biggest grin on my face at the ending. Wonderful work!
    Now then. Wow, 5K per day is a hefty goal. Good luck with it! But don’t beat yourself up too much if it doesn’t happen. And I’m sure you already know this, but you can write your way out of bags of all variety and I’m sure your story will turn out great. So take a breath (or a drink) and enjoy the doctor, and I can’t wait to see the final product. 🙂

    • Thanks for the kind words about Special Delivery. Glad you enjoyed it.
      As for 5k, it’s a good rhythm for me when I want to finish something as long as this is turning out to be. And I really want to finish. Thanks for the vote of confidence.

    • Thanks for the kind words about Special Delivery. Glad you enjoyed it.
      As for 5k, it’s a good rhythm for me when I want to finish something as long as this is turning out to be. And I really want to finish. Thanks for the vote of confidence.

    • Thanks for the kind words about Special Delivery. Glad you enjoyed it.
      As for 5k, it’s a good rhythm for me when I want to finish something as long as this is turning out to be. And I really want to finish. Thanks for the vote of confidence.

  5. First: icon love. ♥
    Second: this has nothing to do with your post, but I finished reading Special Delivery last night and had to tell you how much I adored it. In all honesty, the promise of hot BDSM sex was what drew me in (and that, btw, exceeded all expectations), but I totally fell in love with the characters as well and had the biggest grin on my face at the ending. Wonderful work!
    Now then. Wow, 5K per day is a hefty goal. Good luck with it! But don’t beat yourself up too much if it doesn’t happen. And I’m sure you already know this, but you can write your way out of bags of all variety and I’m sure your story will turn out great. So take a breath (or a drink) and enjoy the doctor, and I can’t wait to see the final product. 🙂

  6. First: icon love. ♥
    Second: this has nothing to do with your post, but I finished reading Special Delivery last night and had to tell you how much I adored it. In all honesty, the promise of hot BDSM sex was what drew me in (and that, btw, exceeded all expectations), but I totally fell in love with the characters as well and had the biggest grin on my face at the ending. Wonderful work!
    Now then. Wow, 5K per day is a hefty goal. Good luck with it! But don’t beat yourself up too much if it doesn’t happen. And I’m sure you already know this, but you can write your way out of bags of all variety and I’m sure your story will turn out great. So take a breath (or a drink) and enjoy the doctor, and I can’t wait to see the final product. 🙂

  7. I would read Two to Tango from you description up there all by itself. I love it. I feel sorry for you, but I love it.
    Helps of course that I read Hero, SD and DB and wept that you didn’t have a bigger backlist (I may have still been weepy from certain scenes in DB).

  8. I would read Two to Tango from you description up there all by itself. I love it. I feel sorry for you, but I love it.
    Helps of course that I read Hero, SD and DB and wept that you didn’t have a bigger backlist (I may have still been weepy from certain scenes in DB).

  9. I would read Two to Tango from you description up there all by itself. I love it. I feel sorry for you, but I love it.
    Helps of course that I read Hero, SD and DB and wept that you didn’t have a bigger backlist (I may have still been weepy from certain scenes in DB).

    • Best of luck with your release. As for the myth thing, I honestly dont’ know. It’s buried in a pile of paper which, if I turn to it, it will be to sort it so my husband stops nagging me. I’d say email the submissions line.

    • Best of luck with your release. As for the myth thing, I honestly dont’ know. It’s buried in a pile of paper which, if I turn to it, it will be to sort it so my husband stops nagging me. I’d say email the submissions line.

    • Best of luck with your release. As for the myth thing, I honestly dont’ know. It’s buried in a pile of paper which, if I turn to it, it will be to sort it so my husband stops nagging me. I’d say email the submissions line.

Leave a Reply

