News with whine and cheese

The news, so if you don’t want the whining you can skip the rest. Necking is out today (I have a short story in there). Also, the awesome  interviewed me for Sequential Tart. We discuss m/m novels and how to achieve world peace. Or just m/m romances.

For the whine: 

My physical therapist upped my exercise regimen, and the result is that the parts of my shoulders and neck which have worked hard to keep from being properly placed are now staging a full-scale revolt which cumulated last night in a midnight bender. They’ve discovered a winning strategy in misaligning in a place at the back of my skull which cannot be reached by the TENS unit and which both fogs my use of language and makes me feel out-of-sync with the planet, which makes me feel paranoid and ready to burst into tears at any moment. Sadly, none of that is colorful exaggeration. It’s some weird pulse point thing; intellectually I know there’s no reason to scream, but my animal brain really wants to scream and freak out. So I drugged myself into oblivion, then lay awake half the night having weird half-dreams. And now I get to go to the pool. What has me running scared is I know (and knew this was coming even before yesterday) this is just a foretaste of the feast to come. I’m going to hurt like this all week. All. Week. And maybe the next too, and the next, until my body figures out that it can’t get out of new exercises by making me fear them from pain. Handily, one of the two WIPs has a good release valve for this. The other is so fun it’s criminal. So hopefully this is enough to get me by.

For the cheese:

I had probably my best Mother’s Day ever yesterday, even though I had body weirdness in the middle of it. Anna and I skipped fellowship, which let her play while I wrote. We had lunch with Dan at work, then got her to her make-up horse lesson before heading out to Reiman Gardens to see the gnomes. It was cold and I didn’t feel well, so mostly we poked around a bit before deciding we would come back on a warmer day and with the whole family, but we did find several gnomes, including the world’s largest concrete gnome, and we jumped on the new music grid near the rose garden. Of course, we also saw the butterflies. After that we did a drive-by at the CIA write-in at Cafe Milo, then headed home with Dan for leftovers for dinner and a family viewing of the first installment of Planet Earth. WOW. We were all very impressed and can’t wait for the next. After this, Dan and I watched  Doctor Who, "The Time of Angels," while Anna remained pointedly out of the room. I retired to bed early with Anna snuggled next to me, and we’ll just pretend the weird body stuff didn’t happen because it’s a nicer end to the day.

I got great presents: an umbrella (gorgeous umbrella! I want it to rain NOW!) and the Sherlock Holmes DVD. I got an email from my baby sister which I reread four or five times and cried every time. (In a good way.) I got to spend a great day with my daughter and a wonderful evening with my family.

This week’s agenda is an edit of The Sweet Son, my turn at the joint project with David, and more work on the dueling WIPs. And the battle of wills with my body. I’d like to say we’re going to come to some sort of Zenlike harmony and understanding, but I have the feeling it’s going to be a battle first.

Posturly yours,

Heidi

30 Comments on “News with whine and cheese

  1. I honestly don’t know how you do it, keeping up with all your writing and family with as much pain as you’re in. I wish there was just something that worked, though if wishing made it so, you’d already have it, I know. I often worry about posting something about pain here or there, because I’m not really looking for sympathy, just looking for somewhere to talk about it, and I imagine that’s you, as well. Still, I wish.
    I’m so glad you had such a lovely Mother’s Day, despite the pain. You so deserve more beautiful days.

  2. I honestly don’t know how you do it, keeping up with all your writing and family with as much pain as you’re in. I wish there was just something that worked, though if wishing made it so, you’d already have it, I know. I often worry about posting something about pain here or there, because I’m not really looking for sympathy, just looking for somewhere to talk about it, and I imagine that’s you, as well. Still, I wish.
    I’m so glad you had such a lovely Mother’s Day, despite the pain. You so deserve more beautiful days.

  3. I honestly don’t know how you do it, keeping up with all your writing and family with as much pain as you’re in. I wish there was just something that worked, though if wishing made it so, you’d already have it, I know. I often worry about posting something about pain here or there, because I’m not really looking for sympathy, just looking for somewhere to talk about it, and I imagine that’s you, as well. Still, I wish.
    I’m so glad you had such a lovely Mother’s Day, despite the pain. You so deserve more beautiful days.

  4. Eek! That sounds very bad indeed. Necks are very emotional – I stopped going to my physiotherapist because she manipulated my neck and as a result I couldn’t stop crying. I’m not going back to have that done again! So you’re a lot braver than me, deciding to power through it and come out the other side. I hope it happens soon!

    • I saw your post about swimming! My fingers are crossed. I’m not yet graduated to actual swimming. I have to do all these weird underwater exercises.
      Trust me, I’d skip the neck stuff, but if I don’t, they promise it will get worse. So off I go.

    • I saw your post about swimming! My fingers are crossed. I’m not yet graduated to actual swimming. I have to do all these weird underwater exercises.
      Trust me, I’d skip the neck stuff, but if I don’t, they promise it will get worse. So off I go.

    • I saw your post about swimming! My fingers are crossed. I’m not yet graduated to actual swimming. I have to do all these weird underwater exercises.
      Trust me, I’d skip the neck stuff, but if I don’t, they promise it will get worse. So off I go.

  5. Eek! That sounds very bad indeed. Necks are very emotional – I stopped going to my physiotherapist because she manipulated my neck and as a result I couldn’t stop crying. I’m not going back to have that done again! So you’re a lot braver than me, deciding to power through it and come out the other side. I hope it happens soon!

  6. Eek! That sounds very bad indeed. Necks are very emotional – I stopped going to my physiotherapist because she manipulated my neck and as a result I couldn’t stop crying. I’m not going back to have that done again! So you’re a lot braver than me, deciding to power through it and come out the other side. I hope it happens soon!

  7. Belated Happy Mother’s Day! Glad it was a good one overall πŸ˜‰
    “They’ve discovered a winning strategy in misaligning in a place at the back of my skull which cannot be reached by the TENS unit and which both fogs my use of language and makes me feel out-of-sync with the planet, which makes me feel paranoid and ready to burst into tears at any moment.” Wow – this describes where I’ve been exactly. I had no idea necks were emotional but I bawled all the way through surgery yesterday morning, so maybe it wasn’t just the Versed. Very sorry to say I’m right there with ya babe, as I wish neither of us were. But hey, we’re in fabulous company. As to talking about it when it’s worst, thank you for talking about it at all. Your courage makes me want to be brave like that too.

    • (You are not being good about telling people things like “surgery tomorrow!” in advance. Just saying. Glad it went well, though.)
      The neck thing reminds me of when I had an at that time unidentified set of root canals going bad, and the nerve pain kept deferring through my jaw and shooting up into my brain. I’ve endured a lot of things, but to this day that was the only one where I grabbed my doctor’s arm and said, deadly serious, “This pain needs to stop, or you need to kill me.”
      To me, neck and shoulders is always loud and sharp and angry. Hips and legs are achy or throbby, but there’s just something about the neck that makes you want to make sure all the sharp objects are well out of your reach until the pain ends.

      • Hey I tweeted it! I thought you were twitter queen? In and amongst all the writing grooviness you’re managing πŸ˜‰ Speaking of which, I am so proud of you!
        Have to agree with third para. Starving to death was second para for me – I told whatever god there was to fuck off and kill me or heal me, then realized nobody was coming for me and I’d have to get myself to the hospital. Nothing has ever gotten as bad as that, to break me in the moment, since.
        PS – left side gets RFA on 5/24, so consider yourself told in advance πŸ˜‰

          • Check you out all disciplined and stuffs! I was wondering how you’d keep all that going at the same time without a few electrodes shoved directly into your language centers.

          • Check you out all disciplined and stuffs! I was wondering how you’d keep all that going at the same time without a few electrodes shoved directly into your language centers.

          • Check you out all disciplined and stuffs! I was wondering how you’d keep all that going at the same time without a few electrodes shoved directly into your language centers.

      • Hey I tweeted it! I thought you were twitter queen? In and amongst all the writing grooviness you’re managing πŸ˜‰ Speaking of which, I am so proud of you!
        Have to agree with third para. Starving to death was second para for me – I told whatever god there was to fuck off and kill me or heal me, then realized nobody was coming for me and I’d have to get myself to the hospital. Nothing has ever gotten as bad as that, to break me in the moment, since.
        PS – left side gets RFA on 5/24, so consider yourself told in advance πŸ˜‰

      • Hey I tweeted it! I thought you were twitter queen? In and amongst all the writing grooviness you’re managing πŸ˜‰ Speaking of which, I am so proud of you!
        Have to agree with third para. Starving to death was second para for me – I told whatever god there was to fuck off and kill me or heal me, then realized nobody was coming for me and I’d have to get myself to the hospital. Nothing has ever gotten as bad as that, to break me in the moment, since.
        PS – left side gets RFA on 5/24, so consider yourself told in advance πŸ˜‰

    • (You are not being good about telling people things like “surgery tomorrow!” in advance. Just saying. Glad it went well, though.)
      The neck thing reminds me of when I had an at that time unidentified set of root canals going bad, and the nerve pain kept deferring through my jaw and shooting up into my brain. I’ve endured a lot of things, but to this day that was the only one where I grabbed my doctor’s arm and said, deadly serious, “This pain needs to stop, or you need to kill me.”
      To me, neck and shoulders is always loud and sharp and angry. Hips and legs are achy or throbby, but there’s just something about the neck that makes you want to make sure all the sharp objects are well out of your reach until the pain ends.

    • (You are not being good about telling people things like “surgery tomorrow!” in advance. Just saying. Glad it went well, though.)
      The neck thing reminds me of when I had an at that time unidentified set of root canals going bad, and the nerve pain kept deferring through my jaw and shooting up into my brain. I’ve endured a lot of things, but to this day that was the only one where I grabbed my doctor’s arm and said, deadly serious, “This pain needs to stop, or you need to kill me.”
      To me, neck and shoulders is always loud and sharp and angry. Hips and legs are achy or throbby, but there’s just something about the neck that makes you want to make sure all the sharp objects are well out of your reach until the pain ends.

  8. Belated Happy Mother’s Day! Glad it was a good one overall πŸ˜‰
    “They’ve discovered a winning strategy in misaligning in a place at the back of my skull which cannot be reached by the TENS unit and which both fogs my use of language and makes me feel out-of-sync with the planet, which makes me feel paranoid and ready to burst into tears at any moment.” Wow – this describes where I’ve been exactly. I had no idea necks were emotional but I bawled all the way through surgery yesterday morning, so maybe it wasn’t just the Versed. Very sorry to say I’m right there with ya babe, as I wish neither of us were. But hey, we’re in fabulous company. As to talking about it when it’s worst, thank you for talking about it at all. Your courage makes me want to be brave like that too.

  9. Belated Happy Mother’s Day! Glad it was a good one overall πŸ˜‰
    “They’ve discovered a winning strategy in misaligning in a place at the back of my skull which cannot be reached by the TENS unit and which both fogs my use of language and makes me feel out-of-sync with the planet, which makes me feel paranoid and ready to burst into tears at any moment.” Wow – this describes where I’ve been exactly. I had no idea necks were emotional but I bawled all the way through surgery yesterday morning, so maybe it wasn’t just the Versed. Very sorry to say I’m right there with ya babe, as I wish neither of us were. But hey, we’re in fabulous company. As to talking about it when it’s worst, thank you for talking about it at all. Your courage makes me want to be brave like that too.

Leave a Reply

