It takes an ocean not to break*

A few different times this spring I posted that I was going to try and go quiet and find my Zen or something like it. I think I may have finally managed the quiet part. Ish. I had a few weeks there where not much happened. I wasn’t reading, wrote just barely, and as you can see here (and even on twitter) there wasn’t much posting. Some of this is that I have been RL busy. I only have one kid, but we’ve been weekending at horse shows and piano and violin recitals and other things I’ve already forgotten. The other thing that has happened is that my PT guy (at my request) doubled my fitness routine. Tripled, actually, but I haven’t fully integrated the third part yet. That meant a lot more time off the computer and doing exercise things and being in the pool. And because of the way these things go with me, that meant a few weeks of amplified pain. It’s funny how there’s a pain where you kind of bitch, a pain where you howl, a pain where you cry, and then there’s a pain after that where you really don’t feel like talking about it. Every now and again I talked about it in a few places, but mostly I just wanted to barrel through. I think I’ve come around the corner. Still ironing out some kinks, but basically I feel near to where my body was last October (which wasn’t perfect, just wasn’t as bad as it got by January). I bought our family pool pass over the weekend, and to Anna’s joy we will be spending a lot of time now at the pool this summer, and on the bike.

I have been writing, though. I did my restart/edit/rewrite/finish on Two To Tango, and so far it’s going pretty well. I’m about mid-way through the previously drafted material. Not sure how many words I’ve added. Less than 10k, I think. It has more shape, though, which was needed. I can feel the plot threads forming this time, which is a relief. Sometimes I have to stop, though, because I’ve basically given Ed a lot of my pain, and sometimes I’ll finish a scene and need to go think for a bit. I think I’m officially putting it down until Wednesday too because the family C is taking a field trip to Minneapolis/St. Paul to help give me a finer eye for detail. I wanted to do this for Las Vegas with Double Blind, but it wasn’t practical. The Twin Cities, though, are very doable, and I can’t resist. Besides, we haven’t had a road trip in a long time. To be honest, we haven’t really had one since the Go West trip.

Speaking of which, we are finally putting the scrapbook together for that trip. I have this plan to make an iMovie of it as well, but that may be wishful thinking. We’re having fun reliving those thirteen days, though.

One last thing: I have two releases coming up in the first week of June, and to that end I think I may finally put together the newsletter thing I’ve been meaning to put together since December. It will be digital, and I’ll probably put it on my website as well, but if you want to get it in email, let me know. The idea is to make it clever and witty and fun. But we’ll see. Anyway, if you want in, sign up.

That’s about it. Well, other than the fact that my daughter won third place in her horse show this morning. Which is highly awesome.

Off to take a nap.

*"Terrible Love" from High Violet by The National

6 Comments on “It takes an ocean not to break*

  1. Totally irrelevant, but after reading about the horse show (congrats Anna!) and skimming the last few words, I totally read that song/album/artist thing as “National Velvet” and went, “I don’t remember the soundtrack to that having songs with words.”
    *grins*

    • Ha!
      Well, lately, I never know what to call entires, so I steal lines from songs. Which makes me feel I should give credit. Someday I’ll get some imagination back and write my own subject lines.
      She is VERY proud of the ribbon.

    • Ha!
      Well, lately, I never know what to call entires, so I steal lines from songs. Which makes me feel I should give credit. Someday I’ll get some imagination back and write my own subject lines.
      She is VERY proud of the ribbon.

    • Ha!
      Well, lately, I never know what to call entires, so I steal lines from songs. Which makes me feel I should give credit. Someday I’ll get some imagination back and write my own subject lines.
      She is VERY proud of the ribbon.

  2. Totally irrelevant, but after reading about the horse show (congrats Anna!) and skimming the last few words, I totally read that song/album/artist thing as “National Velvet” and went, “I don’t remember the soundtrack to that having songs with words.”
    *grins*

  3. Totally irrelevant, but after reading about the horse show (congrats Anna!) and skimming the last few words, I totally read that song/album/artist thing as “National Velvet” and went, “I don’t remember the soundtrack to that having songs with words.”
    *grins*

Leave a Reply

