Closing karma

For five months I have been trying to work up the courage to put a copy of Special Delivery in my hand, walk down the street to the local co-op, and hand the produce manager a book. Today I finally managed it.

If you are the sort who reads the dedications and acknowledgment sections of novels, you may have noticed in the front of Special Delivery that I thank the produce manager at our local co-op for his casual comment about a delivery man. I almost put his name in there, but Dan pointed out that I hadn’t asked for permission for that, and so at the complete last minute I had Dreamspinner pull the name and was more vague. But I did thank him, because if he hadn’t said, "That delivery guy was hot," there would be no Sam or Mitch. It has been bothering, me, though, that I never told him in person. Several times I tried to cowboy up, but I always got nervous and backed out. Then for a long while I was perpetually out of copies of SD, so I let it slide.

Today for whatever reason as I headed out the door to run errands, I picked up a copy and took it with me. I decided that I would take it in to Wheatsfield with me, and if I saw him I would say something, and if I didn’t see him, I wouldn’t. Well, I saw him. Right off. So I had Anna pick out some apples, and I went over and did it.

I’m amazed he could understand me, I talked so fast. I have never, ever been so nervous about anything. I think I would have had an easier time undressing on Main Street. I’m not exactly sure what I was afraid of, but oh my god, I was terrified. My hands shook for a full half hour after I handed the book over. Which I should say he accepted with aplomb and grace, and was very happy and nice and had me sign it. He said he was going to go home and read it. I warned him it was steamy, and he said, "Good," so we’re probably on good footing there.

Anyway. Jesus, I’m glad that’s over. I’m glad I did it, because it felt like something I had to do. Karma loop closed.

On to the next.

75 Comments on “Closing karma

  1. That’s wonderful! I can’t even imagine the guts that must take. But wow, I hope he’s incredibly flattered. I’m sure I would be! Good for you. πŸ˜€

  2. That’s wonderful! I can’t even imagine the guts that must take. But wow, I hope he’s incredibly flattered. I’m sure I would be! Good for you. πŸ˜€

  3. That’s wonderful! I can’t even imagine the guts that must take. But wow, I hope he’s incredibly flattered. I’m sure I would be! Good for you. πŸ˜€

  4. Oh how lovely! I bet it made his day too πŸ™‚ It can’t be that often in a person’s life that someone presents you with a book you inspired. (Never happened to me once, for example πŸ˜‰ )

  5. Oh how lovely! I bet it made his day too πŸ™‚ It can’t be that often in a person’s life that someone presents you with a book you inspired. (Never happened to me once, for example πŸ˜‰ )

  6. Oh how lovely! I bet it made his day too πŸ™‚ It can’t be that often in a person’s life that someone presents you with a book you inspired. (Never happened to me once, for example πŸ˜‰ )

  7. That’s so wonderful that you did that. I know it took a hell of a lot of bravery, but I’m sure he’s stunned that a passing comment spawned not just one novel, but two (and more)! Amazing how the littlest things can create a whole world. πŸ™‚

    • It’s such a loud moment in my head. I know it’s my imagination at this point, but it felt like such a nexus when so many things were born. All because he liked the look of an ass.

    • It’s such a loud moment in my head. I know it’s my imagination at this point, but it felt like such a nexus when so many things were born. All because he liked the look of an ass.

    • It’s such a loud moment in my head. I know it’s my imagination at this point, but it felt like such a nexus when so many things were born. All because he liked the look of an ass.

  8. That’s so wonderful that you did that. I know it took a hell of a lot of bravery, but I’m sure he’s stunned that a passing comment spawned not just one novel, but two (and more)! Amazing how the littlest things can create a whole world. πŸ™‚

  9. That’s so wonderful that you did that. I know it took a hell of a lot of bravery, but I’m sure he’s stunned that a passing comment spawned not just one novel, but two (and more)! Amazing how the littlest things can create a whole world. πŸ™‚

    • The best part is he went off to the break room with the book with this devilish look on his face saying, “The next time people tell me to watch what I say, I’m telling them, ‘No way. Sometimes a book comes out of it.'”
      Which was pretty cool.

    • The best part is he went off to the break room with the book with this devilish look on his face saying, “The next time people tell me to watch what I say, I’m telling them, ‘No way. Sometimes a book comes out of it.'”
      Which was pretty cool.

    • The best part is he went off to the break room with the book with this devilish look on his face saying, “The next time people tell me to watch what I say, I’m telling them, ‘No way. Sometimes a book comes out of it.'”
      Which was pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

