What did I do today? Rallied for marriage equality!

Today Anna and I went down to Des Moines to join One Iowa in a rally in support of marriage equality. At 2PM the National Organization for Marriage held an anti-gay rally on the steps of our statehouse. Which to me is a bit rude, since it’s MY statehouse, not theirs. Eighty-some people showed up in support of writing hate into the Iowa constitution.

An hour later and two miles down the road, just shy of three hundred of us had a party celebrating how awesome it is to have equality and reminding us to protect it. At our rally the governor’s wife spoke as well as the Speaker of the Iowa House. We had balloons, disco music, and lotsa lotsa love.

   

Anna and I also got interviewed by the Courage Campaign as they chronicle NOM’s hate tour across the United States. They also put a picture of us on the blog, so we’re feeling very celebrity tonight. Though it cannot be clarified enough: the lovely man beside me is not my husband Dan. This is the fantastic and wonderful (and gay) Kyl, and he is AVAILABLE. Act now, guys.

Someone in the comment section of the CC site posted a link to this political cartoon, which really, I think sums up what NOM is trying to do very well. But they aren’t going to succeed in Iowa.

14 Comments on “What did I do today? Rallied for marriage equality!

  1. I guess that I really don’t get the NOM folk.
    I like my ‘traditional’ marriage. I really like it. I’m madly in love with Eli, and I’m glad to spend the rest of my life with her…
    …so why should I try to stop other couples from experiencing the same thing?
    Do the NOM folk think that love only happens between people of opposite genders? Or that the same relationship can’t happen between people of the same gender?
    Like you… I support ALL marriages.

  2. I guess that I really don’t get the NOM folk.
    I like my ‘traditional’ marriage. I really like it. I’m madly in love with Eli, and I’m glad to spend the rest of my life with her…
    …so why should I try to stop other couples from experiencing the same thing?
    Do the NOM folk think that love only happens between people of opposite genders? Or that the same relationship can’t happen between people of the same gender?
    Like you… I support ALL marriages.

  3. The Courage Campaign’s NOM Tour Tracker has become part of my morning routine since its inception. I’ve loved following the complete FAIL that are the NOM rallies.
    I saw Des Moines on the schedule not too long ago and was wondering if you’d join in the fun. πŸ˜‰

  4. The Courage Campaign’s NOM Tour Tracker has become part of my morning routine since its inception. I’ve loved following the complete FAIL that are the NOM rallies.
    I saw Des Moines on the schedule not too long ago and was wondering if you’d join in the fun. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

