Random updates and reports of shenanigans

Today is EON. I have a playlist for this on my iPod: EON is End of Novel. It’s the period of time once a novel is truly done and I have shipped it off to beta readers. Once that happens, it’s like I’ve watched the ship sail out, even though technically there are always a few tweaks afterwards. The beta sendoff always feels like FIN to me, and I clap and rejoice and have a few heady moments–and then I twitch. For a day, for two, I’m listless, and I always end up back at the computer, as if somehow the draft will reappear and I will have to start working again. I will say that EON is a lot more fun on Effexor, because I could laugh at myself instead of fall into a black funk, but it was still very EON.

Which probably explains why today was the day I decided to pull out Temple Boy. Most of you are going, "What?" and a few of you are shouting ‘YES, OH YES." Temple Boy is the sequel to The Seventh Veil, a fantasy story I have worked on for fucking ever and which now sits with Saritza to sell somewhere. Which, I thought, probably about time to work on book two. So I read it.

Well, it is actually pretty amazing. It has huge sections missing, and it’s way out of order, and the end needs a tweak, but a good month of work would give it a truck draft, and it could be going off to betas as I go off to shenanigans. So maybe there will be that. We’ll see. I wanted to start something new, but this story and Small Town Boy feel like albatrosses. Want them off my neck.

Speaking of necks: I have been reluctant to update on Mia, thinking that maybe if I didn’t she would be okay, or continue to be so. And she has been awesome all summer. But I think her tumor is starting to grow back, sadly. I take her in next week, and we’ll see then what we do next. I don’t like that it came back this fast. But the vet did say we could remove it again, and it would be less of an ordeal. She looks great, though, and she’s so social. Of course, morbid me thinks that may be her way of saying goodbye. But we’ll see. So there’s your update: during the silence she was great. Now I think we have a tumor back.

And speaking of shenanigans.

So, the deal is, I think Marie Sexton and I are taking a road trip. Well, we are, unless something heinous happens. She’s coming here, and then we’re driving to Missouri (both sides) and Louisiana and Texas. Ultimately I’m heading to see my sister at the very southern end of Texas, but this is also Mitch Tedsoe’s hometown. I don’t know what I’m looking for. I just know there’s a roadtrip south in the next Sam and Mitch book, and I know I don’t know jack about the south. So off I go to learn.

Still loving the Effexor stuff. Upped to 225 to try and zap lingering stuff in my legs and hips, and it’s sort of working, I think.

Still very much EON. Still owe a lot of people beta reads, still need to finish some other reading, still playing a lot of solitaire. Still have too damn many stories to finish.

And that’s the update.

26 Comments on “Random updates and reports of shenanigans

  1. I SO CALL BETA ON TB. ONLY BECAUSE I CANNOT WAIT ANY LONGER FOR THAT ONE.
    Also, give me your agent’s email address and I will spam her with messages on how awesome TSV is. Because that needs to be sold already.

    • You are very beta for TB. I promise.
      My agent reads this blog. She’s epubagent. Now we’ll find out if she reads the comments too….

      • HEY AGENT LADY!!! I love TSV and I will personally buy like 9348294839 copies. It is that good!!!!
        Or, you know, a more budget friendly 2.

          • I do hope you can find someone to publish it, like yesterday. I’ve been pining after that book for… what, two years? I think. I love it.

          • I do hope you can find someone to publish it, like yesterday. I’ve been pining after that book for… what, two years? I think. I love it.

      • HEY AGENT LADY!!! I love TSV and I will personally buy like 9348294839 copies. It is that good!!!!
        Or, you know, a more budget friendly 2.

    • You are very beta for TB. I promise.
      My agent reads this blog. She’s epubagent. Now we’ll find out if she reads the comments too….

  2. I SO CALL BETA ON TB. ONLY BECAUSE I CANNOT WAIT ANY LONGER FOR THAT ONE.
    Also, give me your agent’s email address and I will spam her with messages on how awesome TSV is. Because that needs to be sold already.

  3. If you’re ever ready for the Deep South and need a cultural interpreter, let me know. Of course, I’ve lived away for so long, I occasionally have a My Cousin Vinny moment. And sometimes, I bring shame upon my family by sticking my head out the door of a gas station and hollering, “Do you want a soda?”

  4. If you’re ever ready for the Deep South and need a cultural interpreter, let me know. Of course, I’ve lived away for so long, I occasionally have a My Cousin Vinny moment. And sometimes, I bring shame upon my family by sticking my head out the door of a gas station and hollering, “Do you want a soda?”

  5. I call shotgun on TB Beta!!!
    Hugs and whatever makes her not slice your face into ribbons for Mia.
    WOO ROADTRIP!
    Wonder if I should reconsider the Effexor. I tried one day of it and was so miserable I couldn’t bring myself to take another.

    • I would recommend starting at the very lowest dose, the 37.5. Do that for a week, then go to the 75, then up by another increment of 37.5, etc. Seriously. It’s amazing. Yeah, you have to tough it through the side effects, but Jesus is it worth it. Once those are over, you have a life.

    • I would recommend starting at the very lowest dose, the 37.5. Do that for a week, then go to the 75, then up by another increment of 37.5, etc. Seriously. It’s amazing. Yeah, you have to tough it through the side effects, but Jesus is it worth it. Once those are over, you have a life.

  6. I call shotgun on TB Beta!!!
    Hugs and whatever makes her not slice your face into ribbons for Mia.
    WOO ROADTRIP!
    Wonder if I should reconsider the Effexor. I tried one day of it and was so miserable I couldn’t bring myself to take another.

Leave a Reply

