A potential serious score by the resident pharmacist.

I’m not sure if everyone reading my blog now knows, but my husband, Dan, is a clinical pharmacist. He has both an MS in pharmacy and a PharmD, which means that technically, yes, he’s Dr. Cullinan. He is, to put it bluntly, wicked smart when it comes to drugs. Unlike most of us, he can legitimately claim to have saved many, many lives during his career, and he’s not yet done. Usually his saves are little things that could have been a very, very big thing. He’s the guy who, when you’re in the hospital, checks your med list to make sure this, that, and the other thing put together don’t kill you, or that you get the right dose in proportion to your weight, age, etc. The man cannot find his car keys, his wallet, or his coffee cup, but he can be woken in the middle of the night and tick off adverse drug reactions before he’s even fully conscious. Best of all, when he doesn’t know the answer to a drug question, he knows exactly where to go to find it.

This backstory is important because while it’s not yet for sure, Dan may have solved the why-the-fuck-Heidi-has-turned-spastic conundrum. He went with me this morning to my regular doctor, where the two of them sat there and tried to guess why this is happening, because it doesn’t really make diagnostic sense. My general practice doctor has come to rely on bouncing ideas off Dan, and they were at it hard today, but they couldn’t come up with anything. I was given an appointment at neurology, but also assigned some labs and tests to rule out obvious things. I kicked Dan back to work for that last part, since it was mostly me sitting around waiting to get checked in and blood drawn. (I discovered people are amazingly but almost sickenly nice to people in wheelchairs. And that ho, yeah, even a hospital isn’t wheelchair friendly.)

While I was doing that, Dan was doing his thing. Which was looking shit up and cross-checking, and in so doing, he may have figured this out.

I’m on Effexor, 225mg, for pain control. I’m also taking Trazodone at night to help me sleep. While this is a common combo, he did find RARE instances of people having muscle spasms and basically what I’m having right now when taking the two at the same time. I’m missing some of the symptoms, like a fever, but basically this is a potential really easy fix. It doesn’t help me sleeping, but you know, better to not spasm and twitch and seize up than sleep well. Which the spasming tends to not help anyway.

Again, this isn’t a for sure. But it’s a pretty awesome maybe. And once again, it’s all Dan. It’s funny how in movies and TV it’s always the doctors being amazing and dramatic, and the pharmacists are just there, balding and stupid-looking handing out cups of pills. I suppose that’s because it’s not that exciting on film to have a smart, sexy, salt-and-pepper man indexing journals and research documents. I have to say, though, it sure works for me.

Thanks for taking care of me, baby. Love you.

H

28 Comments on “A potential serious score by the resident pharmacist.

  1. Having grown up in a doctor’s family, I trust pharmacists far more than doctors! Hope this works out for you, as those symptoms did not sound like fun. Either way, let’s hear it for sexy pharmacists! (My spousal unit is an intellectual property attorney–comes in handy sometimes, but, alas, no use at all when it comes to drugs!)

  2. Having grown up in a doctor’s family, I trust pharmacists far more than doctors! Hope this works out for you, as those symptoms did not sound like fun. Either way, let’s hear it for sexy pharmacists! (My spousal unit is an intellectual property attorney–comes in handy sometimes, but, alas, no use at all when it comes to drugs!)

  3. What an awesome post to read.
    And of course, what an awesome hubby. Now I sort of want a tv series with a hot salt-and-pepper pharmacist doing awesome stuff :).

  4. What an awesome post to read.
    And of course, what an awesome hubby. Now I sort of want a tv series with a hot salt-and-pepper pharmacist doing awesome stuff :).

  5. *crosses fingers*
    Yay, Dan!!!
    Those weird medicine side-effects… I had a weird thing when taking Buspar ages ago – twice it dropped my blood pressure and I’d pass out and collapse. Ickity!

  6. *crosses fingers*
    Yay, Dan!!!
    Those weird medicine side-effects… I had a weird thing when taking Buspar ages ago – twice it dropped my blood pressure and I’d pass out and collapse. Ickity!

  7. Good news! I hope this is the answer and you get the right drug combo to make you feel better. I’m so happy you have a sexy pharmacist guardian angel. We should all be so lucky:)
    Mickie

  8. Good news! I hope this is the answer and you get the right drug combo to make you feel better. I’m so happy you have a sexy pharmacist guardian angel. We should all be so lucky:)
    Mickie

  9. The more I read about serotonin syndrome, the more convinced I am that you have a mild case of it. At its worst, it’s life threatening, but based on the doses you’re on, the symptoms you have are pretty dead on. As House always says, it fits.
    You may have a more prolonged recovery because you’re continuing to take a drug that increases serotonin (Effexor) but at a lower dose and with the trazodone out of the picture, I bet you’ll see results in within the week.
    That is, if I’m right. Which I totally hope I am.

  10. The more I read about serotonin syndrome, the more convinced I am that you have a mild case of it. At its worst, it’s life threatening, but based on the doses you’re on, the symptoms you have are pretty dead on. As House always says, it fits.
    You may have a more prolonged recovery because you’re continuing to take a drug that increases serotonin (Effexor) but at a lower dose and with the trazodone out of the picture, I bet you’ll see results in within the week.
    That is, if I’m right. Which I totally hope I am.

  11. Gosh, I hope it’s that straightforward. Maybe Dan the Wonder Pharmicist can come up with an alternate to the Trazadone. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you.
    And it amazes me that you can keep writing and being your usual humorous self during these travails. You’re an example to all of us!

  12. Gosh, I hope it’s that straightforward. Maybe Dan the Wonder Pharmicist can come up with an alternate to the Trazadone. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you.
    And it amazes me that you can keep writing and being your usual humorous self during these travails. You’re an example to all of us!

  13. Just read this while looking for updates on where your different WIPs are at.
    Pharmacists rule, okay!
    Glad to hear there may be a reason behind the spasms but it’s a pity you have to take anything.
    I hope the symtoms continue to improve.

  14. Just read this while looking for updates on where your different WIPs are at.
    Pharmacists rule, okay!
    Glad to hear there may be a reason behind the spasms but it’s a pity you have to take anything.
    I hope the symtoms continue to improve.

Leave a Reply

