The Rainbow Awards

So, if you were on Twitter today you saw me spazzing out (in a different way than I have been spazzing lately) as I heard I won a Rainbow Award (awards hosted by Elisa over at Elisa’s Reviews). My Sally Field moment was when, doubting I’d read the email correctly, I saw the link to her blog as well, and I tweeted, "Oh my god it’s on a WEBSITE!" What can I say. People have been messing with my drugs and I’ve been accidentally poisoning myself with seratonin. I have been impaired.

But then I got another award, and then another, and then my brain just sort of broke. So here’s the list, with links.

Best Gay Erotic Contemporary, First Place Special Delivery
Best Gay Fantasy, First PlaceHero and Miles and the Magic Flute.
(They tied each other.)
Best Character, Third PlaceSpecial Delivery
Best Writing Style, First PlaceSpecial Delivery
Best Overall Gay Fiction, Second PlaceSpecial Delivery

This isn’t my award, but I want to crow about it anyway, because Anne Cain is awesome:

Best Cover, 8th Place to Anne Cain for Miles and the Magic Flute

I know how the genre categories got picked, and the covers, but everything else is a mystery to me, and I cannot, cannot believe that list. I had some really stiff competition in all those categories, which just makes me even more amazed. I’m just absolutely floored.

Thank you so very, very much to Elisa Rolle who hosted these awards and by the evidence spent all day tallying and posting these awards. For no benefit other than she loves LGBT books. Elisa, you are absolutely amazing. Such a gift.

I don’t even know who to thank for this. The Academy, obviously. The judges, the voters—god, just thanks everybody. Thanks to my critique partners and my editors and Dreamspinner Press. Thank you Anna, and above all else, thank you Dan. Jesus God, thank you for making me finish Special Delivery.

I can’t wait to go back to our local co-op and find the produce manager. "Remember that book I said you inspired? Well, look what it’s been up to lately…."


ETA
: I’ve had such a day I didn’t even remember to list ALL the good stuff that happened. I also made Sarah Frantz’s Dear Author, Best of 2010 list. Thank you, Sarah and Dear Author!

38 Comments on “The Rainbow Awards

  1. Award
    Congratulations! All I can say is Special Delivery hasn’t left my Kindle since I bought it and I’ve read it at least 5 times. One of my all time favs!! Way to go!!!!!

  2. Award
    Congratulations! All I can say is Special Delivery hasn’t left my Kindle since I bought it and I’ve read it at least 5 times. One of my all time favs!! Way to go!!!!!

  3. Congrats!! Have you stopped dancing yet? ๐Ÿ˜€
    I love that two of your books tied each other…
    Are you getting pounded with this blizzard?! Ack!

  4. Congrats!! Have you stopped dancing yet? ๐Ÿ˜€
    I love that two of your books tied each other…
    Are you getting pounded with this blizzard?! Ack!

  5. Congratulations!
    Congrats, Heidi, but I can’t say as it was a surprise!! ๐Ÿ˜€ “Miles” and “Special Delivery” are both amazingly wonderful books and deserve every accolade. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve re-read “Special Delivery” – it’s sort of on auto-repeat… ๐Ÿ˜€
    And I’m happy you’re doing better!
    RowanS

  6. Congratulations!
    Congrats, Heidi, but I can’t say as it was a surprise!! ๐Ÿ˜€ “Miles” and “Special Delivery” are both amazingly wonderful books and deserve every accolade. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve re-read “Special Delivery” – it’s sort of on auto-repeat… ๐Ÿ˜€
    And I’m happy you’re doing better!
    RowanS

Leave a Reply

