Only 13 people to go! Heidi’s ongoing quest for 62 equality lovers continues.

I am still trying to get 62 people to donate $10 or more to One Iowa to offset the punch in the gut Iowans got on Tuesday when our legislators, 62 anyway, took the first step of getting rid of marriage equality in Iowa. 49 people have already donated: we have only 13 left to go.

We’re so close, but this of course is the hardest slog. Many, many friends have already donated, and friends of friends. I can’t tell you how it warms my heart when someone emails or tweets at me to say they found another somebody to donate.

If you can help, if you can spread the word in any way, or hog-tie anybody at all do just slip a tenner into the donation box, that would be great. If you do, let me know so I can take the tally down. It would be awful to get this close and not make it.

Meanwhile for those of you who have already ponied up: remember yesterday’s video of Zach Wahls? He’s going to be on TV tonight! At 7pm CST, he’ll be on The Last Word with Lawrence O’Donnell. I can’t wait. And I hope to hell it’s online, because I don’t have cable.

I want to say thank you again to everyone who has donated. It means a lot to me personally, but I also love the idea that just as 62 people made one horrible difference, another 62 people can do something a lot better. All the arguments for that amendment are based in bigotry and misplaced fundamental zeal. Every one of your dollars goes for love.

I wanted, too, to show you what your money goes for. Outside of every day working costs for lobbying and for staff salaries, One Iowa produces ads like this and buys TV time. They don’t have even a shard of the support that NOM does, but they do their best.

So thank you. Only 13 more people and I will blog about other things again. Thank you so, so much.

33 Comments on “Only 13 people to go! Heidi’s ongoing quest for 62 equality lovers continues.

Leave a Reply

