Weekend Update: Whatever

 There’s this urge to blog about the chaos going on around and within my life, to apologize for it and how it affects my interactions with others, on the Internet and otherwise, to vow to work to change that. In a few cases, yes, I will do that, because I’ve let a few balls drop in places I should not, whether or not I’m able to balance things correctly. But mostly, I’m just going to embrace the chaos and acknowledge that it appears to be the way things work right now.

Mercury is retrograde again. I find it interesting that we’re getting photos back of it right now while it goes backwards. And the photos seem to be coming back just fine. LIke this one here. Revealing craters we didn’t know where there, not those ones and not in those places and not in that magnitude. Apparently its lack of atmosphere is what makes it so vulnerable to meteorites. Which gives you a bit of pause, thinking we could be so ransacked except our atmosphere keeps us safe. 

It’s too much to resist extrapolating this into "this is why, maybe, we get so screwed when Mercury appears to go backward, like we’re getting all that bombarded energy." Except it’s probably too neat, inaccurate and stuff. This is why I’m a writer, not a scientist. Little details like "truth" and "accuracy" are always in my goddamned way of making something pretty.

Anyway. Made progress on the story last week, especially after I whined about it being so un-progressy. This caused me to go myopic on everything else, which caused me to do all the other "things must be done" on Friday and all at once. Then yesterday was a great fiasco as we had the adventure of fetching new glasses for Dan. It was fun, but wore me the fuck out.

Today I’m trying to catch up on some posting (leading us to this) and online organizing, after which I get the most vital of things done I will probably move on to the same on the house. 

Though as soon as Anna and Dan come back from their park adventure, I’m going to enjoy some of this very nice day by taking a walk. (Have to wait until they return because someone must baby-sit the barbequed ribs I have slow-roasting in the oven.) And what shall I go take my walk in but my brand new and already beloved Vibrams shoes. Mine look just like these: got them at Jax here in town. Which was great because I got to try these strange beasts on, find the proper size (which was not what I’d have guessed) and get a feel for them. I don’t think I can wear them all the time every day, but for me wearing them is a kind of therapy. It goes along with the kind of body and nervous system awareness my PT does with me (she wears them herself), and I can already feel my feet moving differently, especially my baby toes which have previously been content to be pretty much dead weight. They call the shoes "five fingers," which I think isn’t about being cute but more about how your toes truly are a tool to take in the world.

So that’s where I"m at just now. Embracing chaos as best as possible and doing more walking in funky-looking shoes. And trying to clean up.

How about you?

48 Comments on “Weekend Update: Whatever

  1. Son #2 has had problems with his feet all his life and recently bought a pair of those crazy ass shoes. He swears by them even if he looks like Alice the Goon, lol! I hope they work for you too!
    Glad you got some writing done. When is Nowhere Ranch going to be available on Kindle? I’m techno challenged and won’t try and buy it the other way. I’ve been waiting a long time!!

    • From what I’ve heard LI takes about two months to get to third-party retailers. So, soon?
      It’s ridiculously easy to load the .prc, though. I did it with the Kindle I’d just purchased and bought for Jan so she could read the thing, since print is taking forever. It was a hard drive on my computer, and I dragged it over. Simple as hell.
      Of course, I’m on a Mac. I think it’s similar to a PC, but the specific hows and whys elude me.

      • works basically the same on a PC. The Kindle shows up as a drive on the desktop and then you just drag the .prc file over into the Documents folder. Easy-peasy. I think more than half of my Kindle files (some 800 docs) are .prc’s that I side-loaded. 🙂

      • works basically the same on a PC. The Kindle shows up as a drive on the desktop and then you just drag the .prc file over into the Documents folder. Easy-peasy. I think more than half of my Kindle files (some 800 docs) are .prc’s that I side-loaded. 🙂

      • works basically the same on a PC. The Kindle shows up as a drive on the desktop and then you just drag the .prc file over into the Documents folder. Easy-peasy. I think more than half of my Kindle files (some 800 docs) are .prc’s that I side-loaded. 🙂

      • works basically the same on a PC. The Kindle shows up as a drive on the desktop and then you just drag the .prc file over into the Documents folder. Easy-peasy. I think more than half of my Kindle files (some 800 docs) are .prc’s that I side-loaded. 🙂

    • From what I’ve heard LI takes about two months to get to third-party retailers. So, soon?

      It’s ridiculously easy to load the .prc, though. I did it with the Kindle I’d just purchased and bought for Jan so she could read the thing, since print is taking forever. It was a hard drive on my computer, and I dragged it over. Simple as hell.

      Of course, I’m on a Mac. I think it’s similar to a PC, but the specific hows and whys elude me.

    • From what I’ve heard LI takes about two months to get to third-party retailers. So, soon?
      It’s ridiculously easy to load the .prc, though. I did it with the Kindle I’d just purchased and bought for Jan so she could read the thing, since print is taking forever. It was a hard drive on my computer, and I dragged it over. Simple as hell.
      Of course, I’m on a Mac. I think it’s similar to a PC, but the specific hows and whys elude me.

    • From what I’ve heard LI takes about two months to get to third-party retailers. So, soon?
      It’s ridiculously easy to load the .prc, though. I did it with the Kindle I’d just purchased and bought for Jan so she could read the thing, since print is taking forever. It was a hard drive on my computer, and I dragged it over. Simple as hell.
      Of course, I’m on a Mac. I think it’s similar to a PC, but the specific hows and whys elude me.

  2. Son #2 has had problems with his feet all his life and recently bought a pair of those crazy ass shoes. He swears by them even if he looks like Alice the Goon, lol! I hope they work for you too!

    Glad you got some writing done. When is Nowhere Ranch going to be available on Kindle? I’m techno challenged and won’t try and buy it the other way. I’ve been waiting a long time!!

  3. Son #2 has had problems with his feet all his life and recently bought a pair of those crazy ass shoes. He swears by them even if he looks like Alice the Goon, lol! I hope they work for you too!
    Glad you got some writing done. When is Nowhere Ranch going to be available on Kindle? I’m techno challenged and won’t try and buy it the other way. I’ve been waiting a long time!!

  4. Son #2 has had problems with his feet all his life and recently bought a pair of those crazy ass shoes. He swears by them even if he looks like Alice the Goon, lol! I hope they work for you too!
    Glad you got some writing done. When is Nowhere Ranch going to be available on Kindle? I’m techno challenged and won’t try and buy it the other way. I’ve been waiting a long time!!

  5. It’s interesting how each Mercury is different as it retrogrades as well. This one is in Ares. I suspect we’ll all be eating a lot of humble pie because of that, but this is just a guess. Can’t be bothered to go look for real.

  6. It’s interesting how each Mercury is different as it retrogrades as well. This one is in Ares. I suspect we’ll all be eating a lot of humble pie because of that, but this is just a guess. Can’t be bothered to go look for real.

  7. It’s interesting how each Mercury is different as it retrogrades as well. This one is in Ares. I suspect we’ll all be eating a lot of humble pie because of that, but this is just a guess. Can’t be bothered to go look for real.

  8. It’s interesting how each Mercury is different as it retrogrades as well. This one is in Ares. I suspect we’ll all be eating a lot of humble pie because of that, but this is just a guess. Can’t be bothered to go look for real.

Leave a Reply

