In Like a Lion

My iMac is one of my more precious posessions, but alas, it has become something of a dinosaur. I was already running out of room and having troubles convincing it to keep up with the Internets or do too many things at once, but when I couldn’t upgrade to Lion and therefore continue syncing my files once Mobile Me goes away in June, the need to upgrade became acute. Yesterday we did the taxes and had a better idea of our financial picture, and so today I went down to the Apple Store and did the deed.

Now I am in that special hell that is transferring data. Technically I could have done a Time Machine backup, but I don’t want ALL the data, just the stuff I really need. So right now I have two external hard drives hooked up and am making a lot of trips back to my old machine as I need things. (Anna got the old iMac. She is over the moon.)

So far I like Lion, but I’m still getting used to all the changes. I like my little postage stamp of a keyboard, but I miss my keypad. I got a 27″ machine, which is quite a shift from my previous 19″ model. I can’t wait until I have to compare two documents. Cannot WAIT.

Now I just have to sell enough books to pay for the damn thing, because I had to use my line of credit that is my business allowance for the year. Which I suppose means I should get back to writing…

8 Comments on “In Like a Lion

  1. My uncle just bought a new iMac as well, and he sprung for the wired keyboard with number pad. He said he didn’t care how fancy the wireless keyboard was, he needed his numbers. 🙂

  2. Congrats! I’m all for buying a new Mac – and for you writing in order to pay for it 😉

    When I got my latest one, I used TimeMachine and then trashed everything I didn’t need anymore and it didn’t take too long. Setting up everything from scratch, entering all the passwords and preferences was too much of a hassle for me.

    Not gonna upgrade to Lion though till some of my favorite programs will run on it, like for instance (don’t laugh) Solitaire Till Dawn.

    Hope you’ll have lotsa fun with your new toy!

  3. Yay for the new Mac! Have been getting the bug to get a new one myself (downgrading, in a way to a Mac Air) but just can’t justify the expense yet (nor the need to minimize).

    The good thing about the expense is the ability to write it off in taxes next year which will come in handy when the income jumps this year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

