What I’m Eating: Homemade Granola

Okay, this one is very hodgepodge, but it rocks this earth.

Start with brown rice puffs and a bit of uncooked oatmeal. You can use one or the other alone or mixed, about 3 cups or so. (I eyeballed it.) Add nuts of choice: I have walnuts, whole almonds, macadamia, and cashews, all raw and unadulterated. I would guess they were about two cups total. Pumpkin seeds (raw), about half a cup or so.

I also added about 1/3 cup total millet and quinoa, uncooked. It was what I had left over.

Now comes the flavorings and oil. I went with canola, about a quarter cup or enough to get it all wet. Quarter cup coconut sugar and about 3T agave nectar, but you could just use agave. (If you don’t know about agave nectar, cry. It’s cheap, low glycemic, and hyper sweet.) I added vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon and salt.

I also added milled chia seed and this dried fruit, flaxseed and cocoa powder I found at the store. I think the latter and the agave are my secret weapons.

Stir all this together, spread on a baking sheet and bake at 300F for 20 minutes. I’m eating it without any mill because it doesn’t need it.

I like the rice puffs because they make it light, not heavy.

YUM.

20120322-171006.jpg

2 Comments on “What I’m Eating: Homemade Granola

Leave a Reply

