What I’m Eating: Gluten Free, Sugar Free, Nightshade-Free Pizza with Goat Cheese

20120327-200416.jpg

After multiple requests across social media, here is the recipe for the new Heidi-Friendly Pizza. Acknowledgements to Kyl and Jess for the garlic sauce and Chebe mix respectively, and thanks again for the fun Saturday putting version one together.

You will need:

Chebe gluten free pizza crust mix
Olive oil
2 eggs (or egg sub)
Nutritional yeast (quarter to full cup depending on pref)
Milk or milk substitute
Garlic (2-5 cloves to taste)
Fresh basil
Fresh parsley
Artichoke hearts
Salt & pepper
Thyme
Mushrooms
Zucchini
Spinach
Shredded carrot
Walnut pieces
Goat cheese, cheese of choice, daiya, or skip it

Make the Chebe mix to package directions, subbing nutritional yeast for cheese and possibly egg sub for the eggs. I used eggs, a quarter cup nutritional yeast, and almond milk. The mix says put in an ungreased pan, but laugh at them and coat your pan liberally with olive oil. Trust me on this.

Now you make your garlic sauce. Essentially this is about a quarter cup EVOO and your garlic chopped fine, maybe with salt and pepper to taste. I added some finely chopped basil and parsley as well. Whip this together and spread evenly over the crust. I added a bit of balsamic vinegar at the last minute, just splashing some over the top.

I added more chopped basil and parsley here, reserving some to put on top. I probably had a cup give or take of the two combined total before chopping. To taste is best. Then you add everything else, leaving the cheese for last. I did the carrot near the end because I wanted it for color and because extra beta carotene never hurt anyone.

I didn’t use much cheese. I had goat feta and used half of the brick which wasn’t huge to begin with. My body is tolerant of goat cheese but not wildly happy, so I went with feta instead of mozzarella and less than last time I made this with Jess and Kyl. At this point I tossed on some thyme, the reserved greens, and a lot of black pepper.

It truly rocked. The zucchini and walnut pieces acted like sausage for texture. Seriously, you don’t need the cheese here. Just use a full cup of nutritional yeast in the crust, it will taste cheesy, and your belly will be happy.

2 Comments on “What I’m Eating: Gluten Free, Sugar Free, Nightshade-Free Pizza with Goat Cheese

  1. Oh, intriguing… My one complaint is that Chebe mixes are mostly tapioca, which I think is a nutritional void, if I remember correctly. 😦

  2. Pingback: Nightshade Free, Gluten Free Pizza with Goat Cheese

Leave a Reply

