BTL Diaries, Day Two: Konichiwa Bitches, or, Upgrade At Your Peril

This morning my baby sister texted me from her computer, courtesy of her recent upgrade to Mountain Lion on her Mac. I mentioned it was cool, and liked the idea, and the next thing I know, I had a gift certificate in my email saying, “Now you can go get it too!”

I’ve updated a lot of OS in my day, and every. single. time they are a huge pain in my ass and end up with me in the Apple Store. But nobody’d ever bought me an OS before, and it was awfully cool, and so I did it.

It IS cool, and Hillari is awesome for setting me up, and once I get all the bugs out, I’ll be fine. But let me just say, upgrading the day before I have to spend the day shuttling Anna to my mother’s and get ready to get on a plane Friday? DUMB, Heidi. DUMB.

Not much writing today because of this, both the upgrade and trying to get ready to go to Hotlanta. Made Dan a huge kale salad and things he could heat up while I was gone. Rode bikes with Anna, watched  TV with the family. Spent several hours with Apple Care arguing with them that it wasn’t my phone, it was my operating system and getting hung up on every other second. But I did write a little bit.

I figured out the first sequence, and once again, it’s a Heidi book because they have sex within the first sequence. Apparently that is the only way I roll unless I’m writing with Marie. I”m still in the Chenco section, but I’m almost through, and then I get to introduce the rest of the boys, which is of course a re-introduction, and, yay.

And that was when it occurred to me that I have to start this fucking story THREE TIMES.

I don’t know why I forgot this, because I had to do it in the other versions too, but it still shocked and depressed me when I realized it. What I mean by that, in case you’re frowning at the screen, is because I have three distinct arcs and three distinct POVs, I have to start the story three times. Each time I introduce a new character/arc, it’s like I have a blank document all over again, except for this little thread that leads to the other POVs–and those threads aren’t connected, that’s where I have to go. The first opening is easiest, because it’s what everything attaches to. The next two will be harder because they must link up to Chenco’s plot.

I’ve made it extra fun for myself because Chenco is in McAllen, Sam and Mitch are in Iowa, and Randy and Ethan are in Vegas. Nobody’s stories are linked yet, except we assume Iowa and Vegas occasionally get together for a hot orgy weekend and maybe a tamale festival. Neither Vegas nor Iowa even knows McAllen has a plot point. In other words, this is work. It’s like, really really work.

But I’m already loving it. I love Chenco. I had him pegged a little wrong, because I was thinking he was ghetto fabulous, but he’s not. He’s been talking, and he’s…I don’t know what he is, but he’s not ghetto. Fabulous, though, absolutely. I can’t wait to get the boys all together. I’m hoping I can make some headway on that tomorrow.

In the meantime, one song from the soundtrack is constantly stuck in my head, probably because it’s so Chenco it hurts. Enjoy.

3 Comments on “BTL Diaries, Day Two: Konichiwa Bitches, or, Upgrade At Your Peril

  1. Heidi I am so behind…what is title of this book and expected release? I saw “Sam and Mitch” and my ears perked up and then “hot orgy” lol. I am partway through Randy’s book….

    Xoxo bubz

Leave a Reply

