Peanut Butter Eggs, My Pelvis, and Bill Cosby: Or, This Blog Post is All Over the Map

I didn’t get to round three of #DABWAHA, and as I told Abigail Roux, since I was tired just watching I think the best woman won. Honestly, it’s a bit of a relief—now all I have to do is finish Better Than Love, which is damn, damn close. I was on a roll until Marie Sexton showed up, which is fine, and then as she left it said, “Nah, we want to chill a little longer. Theoretically I was supposed to start back into it today, but in reality this afternoon I’m pretty damn tired. This is because I have gone back into physical therapy.

Though the whole pain thing has been better of late, it started getting worse again, and the last month in particular has been more than a bit shit. I had a quiet moment where I freaked out and panicked and worried nothing I could ever do would stop it or make things right. Then I got over myself and called my general practitioner. I have a new Vicodin prescription, and I’m back in physical therapy.

If you’re the sort who reads those things, you may have noticed that I thanked the Mary Greeley Physical Therapy Department in the acknowledgements of Dance With Me. This was because all Ed’s PT was my PT. I never played football, but my neck was really stupid. I bawled like a baby while I wrote the pain goals scene, and I had to write Ed’s goals (or have Laurie write them) before I could write my own. Well, now I’m back at MGPTD, and this time we’re playing with my lower back.

Today specifically I learned that my abdominal muscles suck ass, and that the right side is so incredibly bad I failed the most easy, inane, people-with-seriously-fucked-up-bodies-do-this exercise: floating in the deep end with a weight belt on and doing marches and scissor kicks. I kept getting shooting pains in my right piriformis muscle, though it’s actually right on my tailbone so I don’t know what what to make of it. The therapist in the water wondered if I didn’t need an MRI, but we’ll see what Matt, my main PT squeeze, thinks about that before I trip over to the metal tube. What we did suss out is that pretty much never are my right abdominal muscles aren’t doing much of anything. So they’re relying on the left side to do everything and the right lower back, which is pissing off my right hip and right side of my pelvic muscles something fierce. This seems to be the whole water problem.

Anyway, there is a whole lot more body work than writing work right now, and now that I’m at my desk to work, I’m barely able to stay awake. Working in the water is exhausting. I didn’t do much of anything, but tell that to my body.

In the meantime, I have a small addiction to copycat peanut butter eggs. These are vegan and can be made sugar-free. I’ve been eating them quite a bit so might try getting some xylitol, but probably I’ll just use powdered sugar and not think about inflammation. I’ve made them twice already, once with the cocoa recipie, and once I melted Enjoy Life chips. I still have some of the melted chocolate in the fridge, and I still have powdered sugar. I feel it’s my duty to make at least one more batch, don’t you?

I heartily, heartily encourage you to make these yourself, even if you don’t have to be vegan. They’re so much better than the store’s, and probably that’s because they’re fresh.

 

After a nap, I anticipate getting back into the game of writing and continuing it through the weekend. The bunny will visit our house and hide eggs all over as per usual. I have to get a few more things for Anna’s basket, but that’s about it. I don’t even think we’re doing anything for Easter other than going to the barn for Anna’s lesson.

Speaking of my child. A few weeks ago I introduced her to Bill Cosby: Himself and now she walks around quoting her favorite parts. Last night she was doing the high person at Burger King so well we were falling over with laughter. To that end, I’ll leave you with a clip of the real deal. Happy Easter, happy pelvis, and I’m serious, make those peanut butter eggs STAT.

5 Comments on “Peanut Butter Eggs, My Pelvis, and Bill Cosby: Or, This Blog Post is All Over the Map

  1. 1. Ed’s pain management made me think a lot about my shoulder issues. (I’ve had left shoulder surgery once and am probably headed that direction again eventually.) So, when I say I feel your pain, I mean it almost literally.

    2. I adore peanut butter eggs, so I might just have to try that recipe.

    3. I had (possibly still have) Bill Cosby: Himself on cassette tape. My favorite is childbirth. “… grabbed my bottom lip…”

  2. Hang in there Heidi. Actually Dance With Me really struck home because my hubby was hit with back and neck problems 3 years after graduating college – and marrying me . He was a college baseball player and very athletic. At one point he had to watch tv through mirrors and was either on disability or working up to six hours a day for about 15 years. Well 28 years and 2 neck and 2 back surgeries later, we’ve managed to raise 2 girls, travel, make wonderful memories, can work full time – most of the time, and has been very successful. He still has to come home and rest every day. But, like Ed, he’s always been my strong sexy hero.

    Do what you need to do to take care of yourself and remember aside from the pain and struggle you are a bright spot in your readers’ lives. Hugs.

  3. Pingback: Review: Dance With Me (Heidi Cullinan) | To the Pain

Leave a Reply

