Audiobooks: If You Love Them, Holler I

audiobook

Image by Jeff Daly

Somehow the comments section of my “review” of Tough Love on Goodreads has become a Q&A, and at the moment the discussion is audiobooks. When Special Delivery was at Dreamspinner, they released an audio version of it, and apparently it’s a cult classic. I listened to a few lines, it felt weird to hear some dude reading my words, and I bugged out. But the people who love it LOVE IT. Now there is sadness in the land because no one knows if Samhain will do an audiobook.

The problem is I don’t know how many people actually want this format, particularly for my books, specifically for this series. I have heard audiobooks are cost-prohibitive to produce; though when I googled to cite this, I found a zillion links about how easy and profitable it is. I don’t know the reality.

Samhain bought the rights to the audio to I’m pretty sure all my books they’ve contracted with me. There does seem to be some precedent, but this may have been an experiment that didn’t pan out. I honestly have no idea.

That said, I told people I’d make a blog post where the devotees of audiobooks can come and wax enthusiastic. I have no idea how many licks it takes to make it worthwhile for a publisher nor any other factor  involved: you could fill six pages of comments and it might not make a difference. But if you’re inclined, this is your moment. This is the place. Knock yourself out.

27 Comments on “Audiobooks: If You Love Them, Holler I

  1. I love audio books. Even if I have read the actual book, I love listening to them too. They help me get through all the tedious chores around the house. I have even been know to re-listen to my favorites. If I am not reading, I will usually have in my ipod with headphones while I run around.

  2. Hi Heidi,

    I love Audiobooks, and have a lot of them.

    Whether I love or hate them (even if I love the story) very much depend on the narrator, as I don’t want a guy to just read it (I’ve already read it y’know), I want different voices for different characters, animation in the re-telling of the story, i.e. the narrator has to make the character/story “come alive”. I have a couple of fave narrators, and a few “stinkers”. 🙂

    If Samhain is to produce Audiobooks of your fab stories, then I sincerely hope they ensure they use a proper “voice actor” and that the books are downloadable via iTunes/Audible.

    That’s all from me. 🙂

  3. I love audiobooks and have been listening to them for over 10 years now. I frequently buy my books in both print/ebook and audio formats. A good narrator is a must as poor narration will destroy a story. I have even bought audio books based on the narrator when I didn’t know the author at all. Another big plus for audiobooks is that they make your stories accessible to visually impaired readers who otherwise might never get to enjoy your writing.

  4. I started listening to audiobooks when they were only available in cassettes :). Now I have an Audible membership and listen to books on my iPod. I enjoy listening when I go for long walks or long drives or am knitting or engaged in repetitive task. A good narrator is critical to the success of an audiobook, however. Like many other readers, having an audio version of a book does not preclude having a print version. With books that I really enjoy, I will usually want both so I can still have the experience of holding a book and flipping through its pages.

  5. Aaaand here I am – one of those who are lucky to have Special Delivery on Audio.

    I’m depended on audiobooks to go through all the tedious tasks I don’t like (talk about cleaning, ironing, etc.)
    I buy book I already have on my kindle on audio, too. It doesn’t matter if I have them in print, they are available on audio and I loved reading them, I’ll love listening to them.

    I agree with everybody, the narrator is important. There are a few very good ones busy in the m/m sector, Robert Nieman is one of them and his version of SD is gooood.

    As probably most of the audiobook fans, I get mine through audible, in my case the German version (which means I have a bit less choice because not all books have the same rights for Europe).

    So I second all the previous posts.

  6. Me too! I love audiobooks.
    I usually read the book first though and then go back and listen to it, while I’m walking and doing things around the house.

  7. I’m not a big audio book listener, but Josh Lanyon has recently been doing a series of posts on the production and economic viability of audio books that I found quite interesting. It may not be quite the same for you because he is self producing, but the posts are well written and fairly balanced about many of the positives and negatives. They could be a good place to start.

  8. So Sunne is pretty much showing off, but we love her anyway ;). As the technology to listen to audiobooks has become so easy to use and so readily available I’m surprised there aren’t more books available. I completely understand the production expense, etc. But for a book I absolutely love (e.g. Special Delivery) being able to listen to it as well would just give me an extra way to stay connected and keep it fresh. Also, sitting in traffic would be WAY more tolerable!

    • After listening to some samples, I definitely see the appeal of having audio files of my favorite books. It’s just one more way to experience the story, and it’s only borderline stalking. 😉

  9. Like what everyone else before my comment mentioned: the narrator is so very important. I thoroughly enjoyed Special Delivery on audio and was very sad that Double Blind wasn’t available. Josh Lanyon’s been self producing his books on audio and his choice of narrators has been incredible. Some of the best I’ve ever heard in fact. I hope you consider doing more of your books in audio book format, Heidi. 🙂

  10. I have recently fallen IN LOVE with audiobooks. Started a new job last year and I have a two hour commute every day. One series I was SO behind on was the J.R. Ward books, I was only on book 5 and I was DYING to read the new one. So I tried this route and found I really really loved being able to “read” a book this way. I do agree though it has to be a good reader/voice.

    However, frankly I have to admit the purchase cost of audiobooks is high I think. ( and I’m sure the price is related to the cost of creating audiobooks, so I get that they may have to be that expensive) Paying $15-25 for a book I can buy the $5 ebook for is just not always feasible. But if it was something I really want I would find a way (discounts or sales) to get it.

    • I know the price can be high. I’ve been a member of Audible for over 10 years now because I can pay a set monthly fee (around $30) and get 2 books a month. The unused credits roll over as well. As a member I also get discounts on audio books. It’s nice becuase I can listen on my android phone, ipod, PC or burn CD’s to listen to in the car. And with their library I can always go back and relisten to a book without having to sacrifice space on my bookshelf to keep the discs for years. No, I’m not employed by Audible, but I do love their service!

      • Neither am I employed by audible but I love them, too. Good way to get audiobooks at a reasonable price. And it’s not that I spent less money, it’s more that I buy more books 😉

  11. I left a comment yesterday, but it isn’t here (in moderation or lost?) so I’ll try again. If the other one shows up… *shrugs*

    I’ve never read an audio book, but Sunne’s got me wanting to try SD for my first one, especially if it has the same narrator as the original recording.

  12. I don’t really like audio books. I’m a visual learning and when I listen to an audio book, lecture, sermon, etc. I have to take notes or doddle or something or I get lost. I remember all my friends saying how cool it was to do housework and listen to a book. Could not for the life of me make that work. Plus the voice reading is never the same as the voice in my head anyway. I’d much rather read the book.

  13. I really like audio books. My drive to and from work is 45 minutes each and that’s always audio book time. I own a lot of the audio book titles Dreamspinner sells, most through Audible. Luckily I bought Special Delivery when it was still available. I have to say it’s stil my favourite audio book. Not just because of the (great) story but also because of Robert Nieman’s narration. Narrating audio books of M/M books can quickly become a… let’s say strange listining experience but Nieman was just perfect for this book in my opinion. Long story short: I would love to get more of your books as audio version. 🙂

  14. I love audiobooks! i have lots of them and if they are really good I listen to them over and over again……I would love to have some of your work on audio!

  15. Love audio books as long as you have a great narrator!! Sean Crisden, Paul Morey, if you have that Jeff Gelder guy, your story is ruined!!

  16. I’m a new “convert” to audiobooks and am an Audible member. I’ve been buying the audiobook of every ebook and print book that I’ve enjoyed – even the old MF romances I used to read – by Sandra Brown (they are excellent audiobooks, btw), Linda Howard et al. I’m constantly on the lookout for MM romance audiobooks but there isn’t much, considering the amount of MM romance authors out there these days!

    I emailed several epublishers asking if they would be releasing more/if any audiobooks – Samhain, Dreamspinner, Silver Publishing, Ellora’s Cave and Loose Id but only the last two bothered to reply. EC said they don’t and their authors handle the audiobooks themselves. Loose Id said they have been considering producing audiobooks (keeping my fingers crossed). So far, in my listening experience, the ones from DSP, which I buy from Audible since I can get the member’s price or through the Amazon-Kindle ebook pairing, are the best quality-wise.

    Out of desperation, as I’d run out of MM audios to buy, I bought three Joyee Flynn werewolf audiobooks from Silver Publishing and enjoyed them even though I didn’t really like the narrator, Jim Bowie. I made the mistake of buying Mexican Heat (Lanyon & Baumbach) from MLR Press. It was AWFUL. The production was very poorly done and I wasn’t able to finish it. I didn’t bother asking for a refund but at $15 perhaps I should!

    I’m hoping Special Deliver and the others will be out in audio!

  17. I’m a new “convert” to audiobooks and am an Audible member. I’ve been buying the audiobook of every ebook and print book that I’ve enjoyed – even the old MF romances I used to read – by Sandra Brown (they are excellent audiobooks, btw), Linda Howard et al. I’m constantly on the lookout for MM romance audiobooks but there isn’t much, considering the amount of MM romance authors out there these days!

    I emailed several epublishers asking if they would be releasing more/if any audiobooks – Samhain, Dreamspinner, Silver Publishing, Ellora’s Cave and Loose Id but only the last two bothered to reply. EC said they don’t and their authors handle the audiobooks themselves. Loose Id said they have been considering producing audiobooks (keeping my fingers crossed). So far, in my listening experience, the ones from DSP, which I buy from Audible since I can get the member’s price or through the Amazon-Kindle ebook pairing, are the best quality-wise.

    Out of desperation, as I’d run out of MM audios to buy, I bought three Joyee Flynn werewolf audiobooks from Silver Publishing and enjoyed them even though I didn’t really like the narrator, Jim Bowie. I made the mistake of buying Mexican Heat (Lanyon & Baumbach) from MLR Press. It was AWFUL. The production was very poorly done and I wasn’t able to finish it. I didn’t bother asking for a refund but at $15 perhaps I should!

    I’m hoping Special Deliver and the others will be out in audio!

  18. I see this is a very old conversation, but I’ll comment anyway. I have spent thousands of hours listening to audio books. I listen while commuting to work or anywhere really. I’m a librarian and librarians must – depending on what they do specifically – read many books. While it is part of their jobs, it is rarely part of the regular work day, so we learn to multitask. I listen while cooking, cleaning the house, doing yard work, knitting, crafting, you name it.

    One thing about audio books that may not occur on first thought, is that many libraries will not carry niche genre books on audio. My own library doesn’t carry m/m or really many lgbt titles, let alone as part of their audio collection. Therefore, when I want to listen, I turn to Audible. They offer affordable versions of the titles I want to hear. Buying an actual CD audio book IS cost prohibitive; it is in anyone’s best interest to borrow the ones provided by a library, but when you can’t get those, Audible is great.

    That said, the casting in the m/m books is not always what I would think is a good match. Some voices are better for certain stories than for others. I am here indirectly because I was trying to track down the narrator Robert Nieman. His voice was so charismatic to me personally that I’ve been tracking down what he has recorded. I just listened to him reading Amy Lane’s Clear Water. He doesn’t do voices, but I absolutely didn’t care. His acting was remarkable and again, that voice. 🙂

    I’d pay good money for a copy of Special Delivery with Robert narrating!

    So, audio books, yes! I have the first two of the Love Lessons books and am looking forward to listening to Iggy Toma – whom I have not listened to before. Keep those audio books coming! ❤

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: