Gluten Free Vegan Potato and Leek Soup, Wifey Edition

I sometimes really wonder what people must think of this blog. There’s no question some poor souls are subscribing because recipes…and then there’s a post about writing or a promo for gay romance book I wrote. And then, randomly, cat. I know some of you are all THAT’S WHY, HOOKER, but still. There must be a lot of head-tiltling.

Today is food again. I was going to blog it, then just link to it, but I modified it so I needed to write it up…and then I got tired and figured I should write instead because yesterday when the rest of planet earth was all UBERNANO SPRINT! I was a fail and had zero words. But then wifey said, “I want that soup recipe Dan was raving about on Twitter.”

I can’t say no to Marie. So here’s your soup, wifey. You’ll see why it’s yours when you read what I modified.

 

Wifey’s Potato and Leek Soup (Vegan & Gluten Free)

This soup is modified from this recipe. Feel free to use hers instead, and if you’re not vegan, go ahead and use whatever milk you want instead of flax or soy.

What You Need

  • 6 small-to-medium potatoes, diced
  • 2 leeks, sliced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 2 stalks celery, diced
  • 1 cup onion (yellow or white)
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • Coconut or canola oil, enough to sauté
  • 3 tsp Herbes de Provence
  • 2 cups white wine
  • 4 cups vegan bouillon OR vegetable broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 2-3 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp fresh ground black pepper
  • 1 cup plain flax milk

How You Do It

First, get all your ingredients out and ready, especially those vegetables. I followed Steph Davis’s suggestion and scrubbed my potatoes, leaving the peel on, but if you’re using cheap russets you might want to peel before you dice. The smaller you go here, the easier time you’ll have of things later and the faster this will cook.

Celery and carrot are additions to the original: I didn’t use them the first go-round, but I missed them and I’ll be adding them the next time I make this. Leeks, though, and onion are essential. I would say go ahead and use three leeks if you REALLY love leeks. If you’ve never cooked with leeks before: wash them, hack off the bottom, and slice all the way up until the green bits become woody. You’ll use a lot of that green part, but there comes a point where the cellulose is too thick and you can tell by looking at it you won’t enjoy eating it. Don’t bother dicing this too much; you’ll put all this in the blender later, and they’ll cook fine.

Now you need to sauté your veg. Use a medium to large stock pot and a little bit of oil.  You can use olive, but remember if you do you shouldn’t turn the heat up too high, because its smoke point is low, and once you cross that your healthy oil isn’t anymore. I’m lazy, so I use canola or coconut. Or, if you want to be super-healthy, just use water. Keep enough in the pan to basically steam the veggies. The fat isn’t essential: all you need to do is keep them from sticking and get them soft. I would say put the carrot, potato, onion, and celery into a bowl to add at once—Davis says sauté the leeks alone first, which I’m not sure is necessary, but I followed it this time. I will say if you do them alone, keep the temp lower or stir a lot, as I had to pull out a few I’d burned.

Once you’ve played with your leeks for a few minutes, add the rest of your veg, keeping the garlic to add last before you put in the liquids. You only need to do this a few minutes, basically to break down that initial toughness of your veggies. Add the garlic last because it burns super-easy (this is a general pro tip, by the way, valid in all recipes).

Then add your bouillon or broth, your water, your herbs, and your WINE. Any white will do: I used chardonnay, but using a crisper white will affect your flavor, so play around. The original wanted 3 TBSP. I kind of laughed and poured half a bottle in. You can use as much or as little as you want, but you might want to add more water if you cut the wine. (But why would you cut the wine?)

I used the bouillon because I’d never done it and I was curious. Pretty easy, and quite cheap: two cubes in four cups of hot water makes broth. But any canned/boxed broth would work. And yes, if you’re not veg you could use chicken—but I warn you, I think that will change the flavor of this.

Now, about those herbs. Davis wanted fresh rosemary and thyme, which would be excellent. I didn’t want to drop $8 for that at the store, and I had Herbes de Provence on hand. You can find those in most spice aisles, but if you can’t, you can recreate most of it. Honestly I’d go ahead and add fresh rosemary and thyme if I had them alone with the HdP. I like me some spices.

And salt. You’ll notice I added a lot, plus bouillon. You can cut that down or whatever you like.

Bring this to a boil, stirring often, then lower it to a simmer and give it twenty minutes or so, enough time to soften your veg. Once that happens, you’ll need your blender. If you have a hand-held one you could do it right in the pot, but I don’t. I did two batches in my Vitamix, thirty seconds or so on variable 8. Especially in a Vitamix you could make this stuff as silky as you wanted, but you could also leave it chunky. Totally your call. Mine was smooth with a bit of texture.

Once you’re all blended, dump this stuff back in your stockpot and add your milk. If you wanted you could add a pat of butter or Earth Balance, but honestly this is pretty nice and rich as it is. You could alternately use full fat coconut milk, which would add the fat back in, though I always feel like coconut milk is sweet. That could be good, though. Play around.

As soon as that milk is heated up–which won’t take but a minute–you’re ready to go. This reheats excellent as well.

Serving suggestion: Bread is always great with soup. If you’re vegan and gluten-free, however, which I am, it’s not exactly the same thing. I was highly satisfied breaking up a piece of Schar multigrain bread into chunks in my bowl before I ladled in my soup. The bread bits rocked, acting like croutons. You could toast up bread and make yourself real croutons, or you could skip it, but if you like me miss that bread-dipped-in-soup gig, this is highly recommended.

I didn’t get very great shots of the soup, because mostly I ate it. I had two bowls last night, lots of sips as I put it away, and another for lunch this morning. This is a picture of Dan’s first helping.

photo

Here you are, Wifey. Potato Leek Soup. Enjoy.

7 Comments on “Gluten Free Vegan Potato and Leek Soup, Wifey Edition

  1. I like your blog! I especially like romance blogs that have other stuff going on… and it’s soup season, so why not?

  2. Heidi, I gave your blog addy to a mom who is trying to find a nonmilk and nonegg birthday cake. I told her yours was good! Just wanted to give you a heads up when this unknown lady contacts you! Lynette

Leave a Reply

