Chocolate Covered Katie’s Snickerdoodles Made Gluten, Egg and Dairy Free, Also Larger

IMG_1784

All that remains of the 3 dozen test batch

When in my quest to find GF snickerdoodles I stumbled upon Chocolate Covered Katie’s vegan version, I knew I wanted her recipe to be my starting point if at all possible. Turns out it was really, really close. Here is Katie’s recipe, which if you don’t require your cookie gluten free, I suggest you try.

Though everyone cautions you can’t simply swap out GF flour for wheat in a recipe, so far I am finding this is exactly what you do, potentially with a few tweaks. I think the key is finding a great flour, and as soon as you unchain yourself from wheat it’s Katie bar the door for options. Overall, a flour swap is what I did for this recipe, though I also quadrupled it in size (her version makes ten with dough snitching. We wanted more.)

You can use xantham gum or not, I found in this recipe. I find that stuff so gross and gummy that I skip it whenever possible, and when I forgot to add it in my latest attempt I found no discernible texture difference. If anything I would say use a flax egg or egg replacer, or if you can use eggs, add one, though you might need to adjust milk/flour if you do. I think a flax egg could add some fun texture to this, but it’s likely not essential either. 

This cookie is crumbly and light and delicious. I would use vegan margarine (Earth Balance) instead of shortening; you might get some interesting flavors out of coconut oil, or a partial swap, but mostly I’d stick with good old EB. If you’re only requiring this to be GF, I would say go for full on butter. Katie suggests you chill the cookie before baking if you want they to stay soft, but we found they stayed soft either way.

Gluten Free Vegan Snickerdoodles

  • 3 cup GF flour blend*
  • 1 tsp xantham gum (if not already added in mix, if desired)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup alternative milk of choice (I used flax)
  • 1 cup EB of flavorful vegan shortening

For sugar coating: 1 cup granular sugar and 1/4 cup cinnamon, mixed well. If making at Christmas, consider using 1/4 red and/or green granulated sugar in addition.

Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine dry ingredients (including sugar) in bowl. I like to sift the flours, soda, etc, then add the sugar on top. Set aside.

Melt the butter, then stir in vanilla and milk in mixing bowl. Add dry ingredients in batches and mix thoroughly.

Form dough into balls about the size of a walnut. Roll each ball in cinnamon and sugar mix. Cook for 9-10 minutes on ungreased cookie sheet. When removed from oven they will be very, very crumbly. Do NOT move from tray for at least five minutes, then let fully cool before storage as they will otherwise fall to pieces. Cookie is much firmer after cooling but will always melt in your mouth. Makes 3 dozen cookies, depending on how much dough you snitch.

*Flour, always gotta talk about flour. I think you can use any GF blend that you like. If you’re making this for a friend/loved one and are not used to baking gluten free, first of all clean all your workspaces and consider rewashing all spatulas, bowls, etc in case of any previous contamination. Do not use wood spatulas, cutting boards, etc for gluten free, and no non-GF stoneware. If using butter, etc, make sure it is new/unopened and not touched by a knife which has touched wheat bread. Gluten sensitive people often have additional allergies/sensitivies; ask what you should avoid. Always read all labels and never hesitate to ask for tips. 

For the flour itself: if you’re a one-time GF baker, choose a pre-made mix like Domata, Namaste, or Bob’s Red Mill. Ask a nutritionist at your local grocery or order online if you’re unsure. If you’re still finding your way in GF flour and looking to find your blend, here is my suggestion to the gluten free flour blend eternal argument.

I don’t like gummy and I don’t like gritty, which is how I’ve come up with the following blend. I warn you I am not exact with measurements (and I find I bake just fine) so feel free to tweak this as you like.

IMG_1786

About 10 cups of my flour blend.

  • 1 part tapioca flour
  • 1 part coconut flour
  • 1.5 part sorghum flour
  • 1 part potato starch
  • 1/4 part superfine brown rice flour (can skip)
  • 1/8 part teff flour (can be approximate, can skip)

I have yet to measure exactly what I’m doing because I tend to fuss until I like how it looks and feels. Basically I’m balancing the heavier flours against the lighter ones and swapping around for flavors. I grind my own sorghum and brown rice in my Vitamix because I’m cheap, the flour is fresh, and you feel very Laura Ingalls, grinding your own flour, except it’s easy with my best friend the blender. The tapioca, coconut, and teff flour as well as potato starch (not flour) I buy pre made, and I think they were all Bob’s Red Mill. God bless Bob anyway.

The tapioca flour and potato starch are very fine and are the key to texture, whereas the coconut, sorghum, and brown rice provide the weight. I might well skip the brown rice entirely next mix, but I still had some left so I figured why not. The teff flour I add a bit of because it’s great texture and high protein.

This is actually a pretty high protein mix, and you will find yourself eating less of whatever you make because you register full much faster. Between this and the margarine the cookie is good but rich. Three is seriously pigging out, and four or five will make you feel like you shouldn’t have done that.

My flour diatribe aside, you can use whatever you like for flours. This has the benefit of not being beany and not being gritty, and it’s not gummy either, which is how I got here. But you might use this and not like a flavor or texture. Play around. As long as you’re in here having a flour party, you might as well go all the way.

One Comment on “Chocolate Covered Katie’s Snickerdoodles Made Gluten, Egg and Dairy Free, Also Larger

Leave a Reply

