Christmas Novella Review: Tere Michaels—Holiday Roommates

Holiday-199x300

Nate Brandywine is an actor without prospects in need of an emergency roommate for the month of December. In the middle of a humiliating gig as a Christmas elf at a NYC department store, he meets Sean Callahan – his producer – a man struggling under the weight of a loan coming due and desperate for a place in the city for a few weeks. One month of sharing a workplace and an apartment with someone you can’t stop flirting with? Maybe this isn’t going to be a terrible holiday after all.

***

I think by now the word is out that I’m a sucker for holiday romances: I have a pile of them on my Kindle waiting for that magic moment when I have everything turned in and all the holiday prep finished and I can indulge. I’ll admit I snuck one in early, because how do you not read in a Tere Michaels novella when you know it’s there? I’m so incredibly glad I did: Holiday Roommates is sweet, hilarious, and heartwarming.

Essentially this is classic Michaels but with a flirty, light-hearted holiday twist. The sexual tension you count on from her is present in spades, but so are elf costume crises, some seriously killer flirty banter, and a wry and managing Jewish mother (and sassy grandma) you must read to believe. In addition to the “when will they?” suspense of the romance, we witness Nate’s struggles as an actor and Sean’s as a budding producer. I think my favorite part of the story was the resolution: I worried when I started there was no way for everything to work out and still be believable…but I should never have doubted it, because Tere totally pulls it off.

Do yourself a favor: buy yourself (and your friends) this Christmas story. You can purchase it right on her website–Here’s a distribution note from her website. “Right now we’re only offering a PDF version; when the .mobi and .pub versions become available, just contact the site and you’ll receive whichever version you want (with proof of purchase of the PDF) at no additional cost.”

Also from the website: “I hope you all love Nate and Sean and their crazy circle of friends and family. I hope you want the story to continue – because they’ll be back for Valentine’s Day! As a reminder to myself about what matters in the coming year, I will be donating 25% to The Trevor Project, an outstanding non-profit which offers outreach to LGBTQ youth struggling with suicidal thoughts. When holiday donations have dried up, I’m looking forward to gifting TTP in January to shine some light on their winter doldrums!”

Everyone wins! Go grab your copy of Holiday Roommates today.

One Comment on “Christmas Novella Review: Tere Michaels—Holiday Roommates

  1. Pingback: I’ve got holiday fever. | All The Bookish Love

Leave a Reply

