Contest for Libraries and How My Characters Became My Cats

This is the flushed out version of my newsletter, basically.

It was my birthday yesterday, and as is now my custom, on my birthday, I give things away. I’d meant this to be done all through August, but my August has been a bit wonky, so I’m STARTING the contest around my birthday and running it through September 5, though it will take me probably until October to get everything organized and gathered.

A sample of books Heidi will be giving for the contest.

A sample of books Heidi will be giving for the contest.

This year my contest is for librarians. If you are a librarian and would like some of my books and yet-unspecified others, enter yourself at this link. If you want to try to get books for YOUR library, make sure they’re down with that, and then you can enter on their behalf. Here are the rules, which are also posted on the form:

This contest is void where prohibited by law. Must be 18 to enter. Only one entry per person. No purchase necessary. Contest open worldwide unless contest is illegal in your country. Contest winner will be chosen at random by online randomizer from total number of entrants. Prize is one of FIVE paperback packages of some of Heidi’s books and other books as donated.  Prizes will be mailed directly to the libraries or their designated representatives. Non-librarians entering must affirm with target library to ensure they wish to be considered for the contest. This contest will open August 26 at 14PM CST and close at 8:30PM CST on September 5. To enter participants must fill out this Google document form. Winners will be announced on Twitter/FB and Heidi’s blog and will be notified of their wins via the email they provide in the contest entry. If a winner does not reply within 48 hours to claim prize, or if it is discovered the winning library doesn’t want the prize, a new winner will be chosen.  Prizes will be delivered by media mail and posted no later than October 1, 2014.

If I get a lot of author donations, I’ll do more than five packages. “Library” can be vague. If you have an LGBT center with a bookshelf, that counts. The only thing I’m not doing is your personal home library or the little free library in your front yard. If you have questions, email me at heidi@heidicullinan.com.

If you’re an author or someone who loves donating your favorite books to libraries, email me and let me know what you want to chip in. I’ll take all books from all genres.


 

The other story of the day is that we have two new members of the family, and their names are…Sam and Mitch.

I want it emphatically stated I had no part in the naming of these cats. How these two became named after my novel will be explained in the story.

So as regular blog readers know, we lost one of our cats, Sidney, in July. We didn’t want to get a new one until after my surgery and well into recovery, and we wanted to take our time and do it right. We’ve been peering at cats here and there, but this morning at the Animal Rescue League in  Des Moines we found two cats we liked, and one of them came with the name of Mitch.

Anna and Mitch

Anna and Mitch

I had almost looked at him last night because of the name, but it felt too on the nose, plus I am biased against longer-haired cats. Yet today when we asked for a good lap cat, he was the first guy named, and my daughter fell in love with him. He’s a rare bird: a male tortoise shell calico. He really is sweet. Ironically enough, he hates riding in cars.

Anna had originally wanted a cute baby kitten, but we talked her out of it because she already has a “her” cat who is weirdly still kitten-sized, and we cautioned her that if she’s after cuddly, kittens aren’t always the way to go. Mitch is a HUGE cuddler. He’s exceeding chill, not interested in toys or treats, just a good dish of water, snug places to hide, and people to lie on. He looks damn good in a blue collar, and he LOVES being brushed.

The other cat had been named Jacob at the shelter, but this was the cat Dan picked out, and Dan had his heart set on naming him. In the car on the ride home, Dan pointed out it was only natural to call the other cat Sam. I could hardly argue, and Anna thought the name suited him very well.

Sam does not hold still for photographs.

Sam does not hold still for photographs.

Sam is a firecracker. Whereas Mitch is an adult, Sam is still a kitten, and he zooms around the room, attacking feet, crinkle balls, socks, carpets, and anything he can get his hands on. He’ll endure being held, but he wants to run more. He, naturally, has a silver glitter collar.

We haven’t introduced Sam and Mitch to the other cats, but the other cats are already pissed. Daisy is growling at everyone, Glinda meows angrily at the door where the newcomers are sequestered, and Walter glares at us as if to say, “How could you?” We’re hoping they all get over each other quickly enough. Sam was unsure of Mitch at first, growling and batting at his face, but they’ve already made nice and are big buds.

(Don’t make any comments about what they’re going to do after dark. They’re both neutered.)

That’s the story of how I ended up with three of my five cats sharing names with my characters.

 

Please share this link with any librarians you think might be interested in getting some books. And stay tuned to social media for more cat pictures. You know there will be a million.

 

Also, since I’m rehashing the newsletter: Hero is available in all retailers, and Fever Pitch and Sleigh Ride have preorders. DON’T MISS the cover reveal for Carry the Ocean at Heroes & Heartbreakers.  See it also on my website, and sign up for my newsletter to be alerted for preorders.

Also also, there will be more of these in the coming month as we do the Fever Pitch tour, but this quote pic is my very favorite, and I can’t stand waiting to share it anymore.

safe space

9 Comments on “Contest for Libraries and How My Characters Became My Cats

  1. And I just would like to note that Character!Sam’s affectionate nickname is “Sunshine”, right? And what colours traditionally go together to make a sun? Yellows and oranges. Sam is a sunshine cat. 🙂

    And… now I want to go adopt another cat. *LOL*

  2. So I just contacted my library and they actually directed me to a smaller library because I live in such a big city and it’s all central and the chances of them getting your books on the shelf instead of in a book sale was small. The smaller library was excited for the chance to have more of a LGBT selection.

  3. What idea to ask for at least one “lap kidden,” as we say. Neither Maxwell nor Morris sit on our laps, and we so wish they would. On the very rare occasions they do, we are beside ourselves with glee.

  4. Pingback: Library Contest Winners: EVERYBODY GETS NEW BOOKS | The Amazon Iowan

  5. Pingback: Piles and Piles of Books: The Library Contest is Ready to Ship! | The Amazon Iowan

Leave a Reply

