Carry the Ocean, Available Now

It’s release day! The book is out, the book is out!

CarryTheOcean72lg

 

The Roosevelt, Book 1

Normal is just a setting on the dryer.

High school graduate Jeremey Samson is looking forward to burying his head under the covers and sleeping until it’s time to leave for college. Then a tornado named Emmet Washington enters his life. The double major in math and computer science is handsome, forward, wicked smart, interested in dating Jeremey—and he’s autistic.

But Jeremey doesn’t judge him for that. He’s too busy judging himself, as are his parents, who don’t believe in things like clinical depression. When his untreated illness reaches a critical breaking point, Emmet is the white knight who rescues him and brings him along as a roommate to The Roosevelt, a quirky new assisted living facility nearby.

As Jeremey finds his feet at The Roosevelt, Emmet slowly begins to believe he can be loved for the man he is behind the autism. But before he can trust enough to fall head over heels, he must trust his own conviction that friendship is a healing force, and love can overcome any obstacle.

Warning: Contains characters obsessed with trains and counting, positive representations of autism and mental illness, a very dark moment, and Elwood Blues.


 

Retailers: Samhain (ebook & paperback), All Romance Ebooks, Amazon US (ebookpaperback), Amazon UK, Barnes & Noble (Nook & paperback), Google PlayiTunesKobo

Add on Goodreads • Read Reviews • Excerpt

Carry the Ocean on Heidi’s Website

Carry the Ocean Spotify Playlist

Join Heidi’s Reader Newsletter

Join Heidi’s Blogger Newsletter


Want to learn more about the book and have a chance at a great grand prize? Follow the book tour. Want to read more about this and other news, and enter another contest? Read the latest newsletter, which if you aren’t subscribed but just missed this morning. Check out my Twitter or Facebook to hunt down a link and subscribe so you don’t miss the next one.

Do check out the Spotify playlist referenced above, because the soundtrack for this book is one of my favorites. I still pull it out long after the book has been finished.

I hope you like the book, if you choose to purchase it. It’s definitely one of my favorites that I’ve written. If you enjoy it and want to let me know, you can tell me on my Facebook wall, tweet at me, email me, leave a comment here, or set up some semaphore just outside of Ames.

That’s about all I have to say, I think. Emmet and Jeremey, over to you.

5 Comments on “Carry the Ocean, Available Now

  1. Congrats on the release, Heidi! I feel like I’ve been waiting for this book forever, lol! Any idea when book 2 will be release? =)

  2. I read it like a complete maniac, finished in one day. Laughed, cried…really liked it. Thank you Heidi. I will read it more slowly again this weekend. Congratulations on release day!

  3. Okay, I am *so so so* excited. I’ve read the first page. I know I’m going to have to go slow with this one, stretch it out. I remember reading Nowhere Ranch the first time (old version). I read the first page then too, then re-read it two or three times, I loved Roe’s voice that much. Now I’m going to fall in love with Jeremey. It’s happened already.

    Of all your stories, your first person narratives are the most powerful. Okay now, on to page 2.

  4. Why do I hate a Heidi Cullinan release date? Because it means I’ve already gobbled up the new book in one day and have to wait MONTHS for another one. (Big pout!)

    But I want to say a special thank you for the spotify playlist. It is just beautiful and I get compliments from friends and family whenever I play it. When I tell them the source, they are completely stunned!

Leave a Reply

