Born to Make History: Yuri!!! On Ice episode 8 recap, I fucking hate JJ already

Whole post is one big spoiler for Yuri!!! On Ice episode eight. You’ve been warned. Get out of here if you don’t want to see stuff.

I thought I’d get the JJ thing off my chest if I put it in the title, but man, I fucking hate JJ. I hate his arrogance, I hate his subtle bullying, I hate the little ways he was trying to psych everyone out, I hate the way he bites his medals in the pictures, I hate his bubble butt boy shorts photos (even though I fully support Victor bubble butt boy short photos should he choose to take some), I hate his hair, I hate his wink, I hate his catch phrase, I hate the way he kisses the ice, I hate his song, I hate his outfit, I. Hate. JJ. I need to see this man go down.

It’s still not off my chest. I could talk for 5k and still not have it off my chest. Fucker.

Anyway. Recap.

Episode 8: Yuri vs. Yuri! The Horror!! Rostelecom Cup, Short Program

They warned us in the title. THEY WARNED US.

YOI grandpa.png

But we start nice and simple. Russian Yuri is arriving at the airport with his team. Apparently this is not anywhere near where he trains, but it is near some of his family, because his grandfather has come to meet him. I did notice there were Yuri groupies there to meet his team, and they had pictures of him with the kitten ears. Which was interesting. I thought that was a JJ the Jerk thing, but apparently it wasn’t just a him thing. I’m going to chose to believe he started it like the asshole he is.

Anyway, Yuri runs off to eat pirozhki with Grandpa and ask him about pork cutlet bowls, which ends up accidentally being an insult. Yuri and Victor also arrive, Victor to a hail of cheers and interviews, everyone wanting to know what he’s doing, how he’s feeling about being in Russia, if he’s coming back to skating. Here is, exactly (according to the Crunchyroll translators) what Victor says:

“Until the Grand Prix Final is over, I won’t comment on any future plans. Right now I see a lot of potential in Katsuki Yuri’s skating. I’d like you all to focus on Yuri at the Rostelecom Cup.”

I have many thoughts on this, but we will save them until the end of this recap. But put a pin there.

They then ask him a very important question, which we will also quote.

“If the skater Yuri has that much charisma, don’t you want to face him as a fellow competitor?”

yoi competitor.png

To this Victor says nothing, only pauses for a moment, then basically says, “Hey, look, it’s Yuri Plisetsky, HOW ABOUT YOU TALK TO YURI.” Except he calls him Yurio, because, you know, Victor.

So Victor doesn’t want to answer this question. Let’s put a pin in that too.

Victor tries to be all chummy with Yuri, bragging that he put together a program for him, but Yuri brushes him off, basically telling him to go to hell, that he’s nothing, a has-been. Victor simply smiles at him like he’s the most adorable little kitten he’s ever seen. Poor Yuri.

Meanwhile Japanese Yuri is going to his room and runs into a whole bunch of the other skaters. The cold, rude Korean guy, the creepy brother-sister Italian couple, the nice but not-gonna-make-it Czech guy, and of course he runs into Yurio, who he wishes good luck to but Yurio gives him the usual gruff glare and cold shoulder.

The announcer here gives us a handy run-down of the standings, which I still don’t really understand. I don’t get how Chris automatically has an in at the Grand Prix–I guess because he already competed in something? Last year? IDK. And I don’t get why Phichit is sweating it out so much. This is clearly some skating thing I don’t understand, and it’s like when I read Avon Gale’s hockey books. It’s been explained, but I still don’t get it, so I’m just going to play along and see what happens and assume it has a reason. All I really care about is the shipping anyway.

Everyone back in Japan is watching via live-stream. This will be important because of the damn dog. But later for that.

Seung Gil does his routine, and he’s technically perfect, mostly, but he’s expressionless, and he’s not going to advance, probably, and he’s a jerk so we don’t care. But he looked like a rainbow feather duster, and it happened, so, there we go. Czech guy goes, and he’s even more forgettable. Meanwhile, backstage…

Fucking JJ.

yoi fucking jj.png

JJ is this skater from Canada. He’s been winning his stuff, so, great for him, but he’s an ass. He’s super arrogant, and he’s being a jerk right now, talking and distracting everyone, especially Yuri while he’s trying to focus. When Yuri basically ignores him, JJ turns to baiting Victor, comparing him to other skaters. Everyone is obsessed with noting jumps Victor did, trying to be better, but JJ is the first to be so in his face about it. Victor doesn’t seem pleased.

Neither am I, Victor. Neither am I.

Italian guy goes now, and he’s weirdly creepy, clearly in love with his sister, and IDK what’s going on here. Let’s ignore it and move on.

Although. Sala does give us some foreshadowing, that she and her brother have to learn how to win without each other or they’ll both go down. Hmm…

Meanwhile back home people are having connectivity problems. They are not paying attention to the goddamned dog and are leaving piles of buns out. I think possibly on the altar of the dead dog, which, irony. But I don’t know. Buns out, wrapped in things, in a heap, and Makkachin is drooling over them. And people are not watching the dog, just the computer screen.

Yurio is getting ready, but he’s upset because his grandpa isn’t in the audience as he’d expected him to be. He’d been counting on his grandfather to help him get an edge for his performance, but it doesn’t look like it’s going to happen. Meanwhile he’s jealous as hell of Yuri and Victor, and the rage is eating him alive.

Yuri and Victor themselves are…something.

I’m not sure what we’re supposed to read into them in this. I was struck by how blank they left it. There were some glances, and some touches. Like the skates. That was the biggest one, when Victor was tying Yuri’s skates and they just stared at each other. And then there’s the tie grab. I enjoyed the tie-grab GIF for a week because it was in the preview and it was turned into a GIF in less than ten minutes, but the episode’s moment was even better.

But what have they been thinking? What have they been doing? Did that seal something? Did they have More Moments? Or did they just write that off as a kiss on the ice and now we don’t do that? We need to know and all we have are these fucking skates and a wrinkled tie.

The tie-grabbing happens because Victor can’t stop mugging for the crowd, which isn’t chanting Yuri’s name but Victor’s–right before Yuri skates. What a morale booster. But again, this is Yuri we’re talking about. First, he literally draws Victor’s attention back to him–look at me and only me–and assures him not to worry, he’ll show his love to the whole of Russia. Then he skates a perfect short program and brings the house down.

And then Victor kisses his skate in homage in the kiss and cry.

YOI skate kiss.png

Kisses his skate.

What in the hell are they doing, guys, we must know, come on. I need the novelization to this. I want to write the novelization to this.

Yurio follows Yuri immediately after, and that’s not the best thing for him at all. All that rage, and it’s only worse now. His technique is good, but he flubs a jump because he’s so angry, and he doesn’t have the grace he should, the art that would come if he could just let go of that hate. Oh kiddo, I do love you. I want to wrap you in a blanket and make it better.

But given how he reacts to Yuri and Victor’s unconditional love, which they show him despite his constant insults, I doubt my blanket would be welcome. Sigh.

Anyway. Yurio performs, and he comes in second to Yuri’s first. They’re the top two now, and this all seems great, just what we want to see at the end of the episode except maybe another kiss.

Except remember the dog.

And fucking JJ.

JJ is an annoyance. JJ simply tosses kitten ears on Yurio, makes him angry again, then skates his idiot program, gets the highest score and edges out Yuri. Whatever. That’s annoying but could be fixed in the next ep and anyway doesn’t matter, Yuri could still get to the Grand Prix in second. What fucking matters is the dog.And those buns.

They call from Japan to let Yuri and Victor know Makkachin has eaten the goddamned buns and they’re stuck in his throat and they’re at the vet and they don’t think he’ll make it but they felt Victor should know. And of course Yuri’s immediate reaction is to tell Victor he must go back to Japan at once and be with his dog, not to worry, Yuri will do his free skate on his own. They are having an argument about this when Victor’s old coach walks up with Yurio and Victor seizes on this great idea, how about Yakov be Yuri’s coach for just one day while Victor rushes off to Japan? Everyone says “huh?!” in succession and that’s how the fucking episode ends.

Yoi solo.png

And the previews give no clues whatsoever as to what’s coming. So here we are. Waiting for Wednesday. Screaming this week for a very different reason.

Okay this is the end of the recap. Past this we get into conjecture. If you don’t want that, turn away. If you want to get in the armchair with me and play what if and I think maybe, come on in.

Let’s go back to my pins above. And in fact let’s go back also to the opener, to the skate they do “together,” the one that gets videotaped. I don’t know enough about skating or how shit goes down to figure out how, but I have a feeling there’s no way this doesn’t end without Victor and Yuri skating in competition against each other at some point. In a way I think it’s what they both want–and I know Victor wants Yuri to beat him.

But sometimes Victor really does seem retired. So maybe not. But I really think he skates again. I have this feeling. Especially since he had that pregnant pause in that pin above.

I also really worry about this whole setup with Yakov. If he agrees at all, which I doubt, he’ll only do it on condition that Victor return, which would be how Victor gets back into skating. But I don’t know how that would happen, can you even return mid-season?

All I know is I really want to see them stay together, not get broken up in any way. If they can’t be coach and student anymore (which could be a good thing on a lot of levels, personally and professionally) I want them to still BE TOGETHER. I could see them being on Yakov’s team together. That might not be bad. I could deal with that. I just need them TOGETHER. FOREVER.

FOR ETERNITY.

I gotta go watch that translated song again. That is my fucking everything.

So I don’t know. Next week, man. I don’t know how many episodes are left. Eight million, I hope, in this season. But seriously, are there twenty? Ten? Thirty five? If they leave me hanging with something like this and then vanish for a year I will not be able to function.

*happy sigh* Anyway. Thus endeth my marathon recaps of Yuri on Ice. I hope you are all watching it now. See you back here next week.

3 Comments on “Born to Make History: Yuri!!! On Ice episode 8 recap, I fucking hate JJ already

  1. Hi Heidi! First, thank you very very much it’s because of your first recap that I went and see all 8 episodes this morning, and I absoluetly loved this anime. I’ve tried watching YAOI before but I was always too much frustrating by the stereotyping of caracters. Anyway, I came back here to read all your recaps (and follow the links) and that’s make the fiction even better! So double thank you! What a great way to spend a sunday…
    I’m all for you writting the novellization! Please 🙂
    Also I read somewhere it’s suppose to be 12 episodes but I can’t find if it will more than one season…
    (please, forgive any mistakes in my english, it’s my language)
    Anyway I’ll be there for episode 9!
    Bye,
    Hélène

    • Hélène, I’m so glad you’re enjoying Yuri on Ice, and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with your English at all! Yes, from what I see it’s 12 episodes but alas, I too can’t confirm that it’s anything more than one season. I certainly hope so. I will keep doing my part to boost viewership so they’re compelled to renew!

  2. Pingback: Born to Make History: Yuri on Ice Episode 12, History Made and Next Level Feels on Deck | The Amazon Iowan

Leave a Reply

